One-skillet dinner!!! Spanish Chicken and Rice

Standard

Recently I made this dish and my handsome fella declared that it was “the best chicken dish” he has had in a while!  So naturally I knew I needed to share it on this blog.  I found this recipe in the USA Weekend from May 13-15, 2001.  It is from ThreeManyCooks by Pam Anderson.  I of course love that it only messes up on dish and by the time the dinner is finished on the stove, I have cleaned up the kitchen.

I found the recipe when we lived in Pennsylvania and finding chorizo was a tough task….living in Texas now I have my pick of chorizo at ANY store I walk into.  I purchased chorizo that had no casing, so rather than cut it into slices, I just crumbled it into the dish and cooked it well.  I liked this better.

Spanish Chicken & Rice

Combine together:

  • 1 T of olive oil
  • 1 tsp each of paprika, garlic powder and dried oregano
  • sprinkling of salt and pepper

Toss into the rub mixture

  • 6-8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

Heat a large, deep skilled over medium-high heat.

Add to the skillet the chicken and saute, turning once until it is well browned, about 6 minutes.

Remove the chicken and set aside.

Add to the skillet and cook until browned (about 3 minutes or so)

  • 1 T of olive oil
  • 1/2 pound of crumbled chorizo

Add to the browned chorizo and cook until tender (about 4 minutes)

  • 1 medium onion, cut into a medium dice
  • 1/2 red bell pepper cut into a medium dice

Stir in:

  • 1 1/2 cups of rice (I used Uncle Ben’s long grain rice)
  • 3/4 tsp turmeric

Stir everything to coat the rice and turmeric with oil

Add to the pan:

  • 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 can of petite-diced tomatoes
  • The browned chicken

Bring everything to a simmer over medium-high heat.

Reduce heat to low, cover adn cook until liquid has absorbed and rice is tender (about 20-25 minutes)

Stir in:

  • 3/4 cup frozen peas

Cover, turn off heat and wait a few minutes before serving.

This picture has nothing to do with Spanish Chicken and Rice! But if you want to pin the recipe…you need an image 🙂

Leave a Reply

