Selling my house has ruined me

Standard

Yep you heard it…I am ruined.  That is R-U-I-N-E-D.

We have had our house on the market for a few months and we are so thankful that God has provided a buyer and that, pending appraisal, we will be moving on in our journey of life.

However, I have been ruined in the last few months.  My house has been clean.  It is de-cluttered.  It is vacuumed regularly.  The kitchen is clean and clear—even the sink!

.Clean Counters!

Everything in place!

 

I have always loved a clean house…I mean really, who doesn’t.  But not many love to clean a house.  It takes work and discipline.

However, at the end of the day it feels so much better than staring at piles of papers, laundry and dishes.

I’ve learned that it does take time and effort.  Those two items are in short supply in my life but it takes less time and less effort to keep up with the clutter and cleaning.  You would think that it would not have taken me 41 years to realize this.  I always knew it in my head but I didn’t live it.

Taking time each day makes a world of difference in how my house looks.

It is like that with my time each day with the Lord.  When I take time daily to spend some moments with him it makes a world of difference in how my temple looks.  We are the temple of God, it says so in the New Testament in 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Don’t you know that your bodies are temples of the Holy Spirit? The Spirit is in you. You have received him from God.”  

When I take time to listen to him, talk to him and focus on him, it is amazing how much better I look.  Not in how I look physically but spiritually.  I am a better mom on the days I take time with the Lord, I’m a better wife, and I’m just better.  Why?  Because you become like those you spend time with.  Who wouldn’t want to be more and more like our Lord?  Don’t get me wrong….I have a LONG way to go to looking like the Lord.  But each day He refines me a bit more, He molds me and makes me into his vessel that reflects him.

So putting my house on the market has triggered not only the desire to have my physical house clean but my spiritual house clean too.  Each takes work but it is so worth it.

I started this post by saying that I was ruined.  Well, just to remind us all, ruined means: the physical destruction or disintegration of something or the state of disintegrating or being destroyed.  My routine of life was ruined when we put our house on the market: change of schedules to get the house ready to show, packing things away to clear up shelves and closets and many other little pieces picked away at.  However in the midst of that destruction, beautiful things have been created.  I have seen God work and move not only in the selling of our house, but also in my own life.  I am not the same person I was four months ago.  I never knew that I would be so glad to see something ruined!

 

IMG_0075

Leave a Reply

