Back to School Plans

Standard

We start school in a few days and my head has finally accepted it.  I have decided what meal we will have that first evening (one I can prep ahead) and of course snacks too.  These are normal plans each year.  However, I have taken a new step this year and prepared some items for “fast breakfast”.

Our middle schooler has to leave an hour earlier than her old elementary school schedule so I’m thinking this means a few more breakfasts on the run!  My Aunt Gwen shared an easy recipe several years ago for some yummy Breakfast Tacos.  So tonight, I served leftovers for dinner and spent my time in the kitchen preparing breakfast for the freezer.

Breakfast Tacos

Bake Ahead of time:

  • 1 large baked potato

Brown in skillet:

  • 1 lb regular flavored bulk sausage (I used Jimmy Dean)

Set sausage aside to absorb the grease

Chop into pieces and brown in left over grease:

  • the baked potato (I did take most of the potato skin off)
  • one large onion (I cut this really small as my girls say they don’t like onion)
  • Add pepper to taste and just a smidgen of salt

Scramble in butter over low heat

  • 12 eggs
  • Add pepper to taste

Add to eggs while they are cooking

  • 6 slices of American cheese

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl

Breakfast Tacos from beckinpa.wordpress.com

Place spoonfuls in tortillas and wrap in foil (20 tortillas)

Breakfast Tacos from beckinpa.wordpress.com

Place a few spoonfuls in for a large taco and a spoonful and a half for a small taco.

First fold

First fold

Now fold the sides in over the first fold and wrap up in foil.

Now fold the sides in over the first fold and wrap up in foil.

Reheat- Oven at 275° for 35-40 minutes or Microwave, remove from foil and wrap tortilla in a paper towel.  Heat for about 40 seconds for one taco.

Wrapped and ready for the freezer.  I marked the Large and Small Tacos and dated them.

Wrapped and ready for the freezer. I marked the Large and Small Tacos and dated them.

Enjoy!

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: School-year Swing! | Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

