I made my own Cream of Mushroom Soup!

Standard

Tonight I had a tried and true family favorite on the menu….stroganoff.  It is easy, quick and everyone loves it.  I thought I had everything at home but picked up a few ingredients on my Wal-Mart run earlier in the morning.  I “always” have some cream of mushroom so I didn’t get any.  MISTAKE!
I start to make dinner, the meat is browning and the water is boiling for the noodles to be thrown in and I open the pantry to find that I am indeed out of every can of cream of mushroom and cream of chicken for that matter.

I don’t have time to run to the store.  This week is Vacation Bible School at our church so I need to be there a little after 5:00 and it is almost 4:00….what is a girl to do?

Google to the rescue!

I looked up homemade cream of mushroom soup and found this link.  It claims that you can make this in less than 5 minutes and it is true!  I found the recipe, gathered the items to make it, and it was ready by the time I needed to add the condensed soup to the recipe.  Now, I didn’t have any evaporated milk so I used our 1% regular milk and I used canned mushrooms rather than fresh.

As I look over the recipe just now, I’m seeing that I did not put it into the microwave to thicken it up….but it all worked fine.  I guess because then the stroganoff simmers for a while.

Anyway, I am glad to have this recipe in my folder now.  I’m sure it is healthier and it really was easy to do.

 

Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup

Put all the following ingredients in a blender or food processor and pulse until smooth

  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 tablespoon canola or vegetable oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon white pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt (or to taste)
  • pinch of sugar
  • 8 ounces of 25 evaporated milk (I used 1% regular milk)

Add to the soup and pulse 2-3 times until chopped:

  • 3/4 cup fresh mushrooms, sliced (I used a can of sliced mushrooms- drained)

(This is where I stopped but the recipe says to go on with the following)

Pour into a 2-quart Pyrex bowl and microwave on high for 3 minutes, whiscking well after two minutes and again at the end of cooking time.  If not thick enough, add 30 seconds and whisk again.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. Hey Becki– I remembered you had posted a “Cream Of _____” soup so I looked it up. I just found out this week that I’m allergic to wheat, which happens to be in the canned version. Just one more thing in this crazy, crazy life!

    Miss you!
    Amy

Leave a Reply

