Chicken Enchiladas

Standard

SCORE!  I had no clue what to make for dinner tonight.  I confess…I have not done any meal planning since before Mother’s Day.  Life has been a wee-bit hectic!  I have made it by with ground beef dishes, quesadillas, and burritos…but I needed something more substantial to prepare for my family.  I flipped open a family cookbook and found “Randi’s Chicken Enchiladas”….a recipe I submitted but haven’t made in almost nine years.  I checked out the ingredients and thanks to some shredded chicken in the freezer I had all the required items.

I decided to make mexican rice, a can of corn, and pull out the jello I made earlier this week.  Score—-a meal without a trip to the grocery store.

Here is the recipe; It gets four smiley faces at my house.

Randi’s Chicken Enchiladas

Combine in a bowl and mix well:

  • 2 to 3 cups of chopped, cooked chicken
  • 3/4 c shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 c shredded Monterrey Jack cheese (ok, confession I had shredded fiesta cheese and two thick slices of pepper jack which I chopped up to use for the 1 1/2 cups of cheese needed here)
  • 1/3 c chopped onion
  • 1/2 c sour cream

Spoon the chicken mixture onto:

  • 8 medium tortillas (or 12 small ones)

Roll to enclose the filling and place seam side down in a 9×13 baking dish sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.

Melt in a saucepan:

  • 1/4 c margarine/butter

Blend into saucepan:

  • 1/4 c flour

Gradually stir in:

  • 1 can chicken broth (or make your own with 14 oz water and two bullion cubes)

Cook until thickened, stirring constantly.

Stir in

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 4-oz can of diced green chilies

Cook the sauce until heated through, stirring constantly.

Pour over tortillas

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Sprinkle with

  • 1/4 c cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 c Monterrey Jack cheese, shredded

Bake for 5 minutes to let cheese melt.

2 responses »

  1. I can even eat this! I just bought over $200 worth of healthy groceries! It’s amazing how much more healthy food costs than non-healthy food! Hope things settle down with all of you soon. We love you all very much. We’re having pinto beans, cornbread, and baked potatoes. That will be my big carbs for the whole week, and I will just sprinkle some cornbread on top of my beans. I’m down 6 pounds!! Yahoo!

Leave a Reply

