40 Rocks and Rolls

Standard

Today my handsome fella turned 40.  Yesterday I asked him “What would you like for breakfast on your birthday?”  His reply: “40 cinnamon rolls”….not just cinnamon rolls but 40 of them!!!   Have no fear, I was up for the challenge!  Look what I made:

40 Mini-Cinnamon Rolls

Then there was the gift.  I wanted something that was “40-ish” but not mean.  So I came up with “40 Rocks!”.  The girls and I each wrote, on a total of 40 rocks, things that we love about him and put them in a jar that he can keep on his bookshelf.  The girls loved my idea and we had fun sitting down while Brad was at work Tuesday evening to finish up our gift for him.

40 Rocks!     40 Rocks! Displayed with jar

We had a great morning!

Of course dinner wasn’t too shabby either…pulled pork and fruit salad topped off with the birthday boy’s favorite cake (compliments of some awesome friends).

40th Birthday Boy and the girls

 

Now….how did I make those mini-cinnamon rolls?  Well I googled “easy homemade cinnamon rolls” and found this recipe:

To get enough to do both numbers, the 4 and the 0, I did two batches

Mini-Cinnamon Rolls

In a small bowl mix together:

  • 1 Tablespoon of slightly melted butter
  • 4 Tablespoons of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon of flour

Open:

  • 1 can of crescent rolls

Take half of the dough and separate at the vertical seams.  (I pulled the dough into the four rectangles to create the rolls)

Press the diagonal seams of the dough together so that the dough is smooth.

Spoon the cinnamon mixture onto the dough.

Roll the short side up and continue with the remainder of the dough.

Cut into 2 inch slices…I got four out of each rolled section, but if I had thought ahead and cut 5 in each then I really would have had 40 cinnamon rolls!

Place all the rolls on a cookie sheet.

Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes

 

When the rolls have cooled, mix together the icing.  I forgot about the icing until after I took the pictures and we were all ready to eat- I threw it together but it needs work….here is what the “googled” recipe said to do:

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons milk….and by typing that I realized my problem….I put in 2 Tablespoons of milk.  No wonder my icing was a bit runny!  So make sure to use two TEAspoons and your icing should turn out better than mine!
5 responses »

Leave a Reply

