From Flip-Flops to Snow Boots

Standard

Last week I was in Texas helping my Aunt who is fighting her battle with cancer.  While there I was wearing flip-flops and enjoying the sun on my back.  Then I return home and not three days after wearing flip-flops I’m pulling out snow boots!

YUCK.  I was not happy about the snow.  I sat down to read “Jesus Calling for Kids” a wonderful devotional book by Sarah Young which we purchased for our children yet I get so much out of it too!  The title for the day was “No Grumbling, Please” and the verse was a portion of 1 Corinthians 10:10 “And do not grumble.”  One of the “read on your own” scriptures was 1 Thessalonians 5:18 “give thanks in all circumstances.”  The devotion talked about how grumbling is telling God that I don’t like how things are going….that I disapprove of how He is doing things and complaining shows an ungrateful heart.  I thought about my flip-flops and snow boots.

To me….

Flip-Flops

Flip-Flops represent all things good—sunshine, warm, long days, happiness.

Snow Boots

Snow Boots represent gloom and muck.

I would rather have flip-flops but regardless, God provides and I am to be thankful.  In the good times I am thankful for flip-flops and in the bad times I thank Him for the snow boots to endure the gloom and muck.

It takes more work to be thankful in the snow boots but that is what I am to do.  I watched my Aunt this last week try so hard to be thankful in the midst of her “snow boots” of cancer.  It is hard…it takes effort, but it is what 1 Thessalonians 5:18 tells us to do.

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

