St. Patrick’s Day 2013

Standard

Even though we have absolutely no Irish blood in our family…it is fun to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day!  Today for lunch we had a green lunch.  I found a recipe on the wonderful recipe blog of “Two Peas & Their Pod” called Creamy Avocado Pasta.  It looked easy to throw together so I planned to make that once we got home from church.  It was good but a tad dry, so when I make it again I will add some olive oil to the avocado sauce prior to mixing it with the spaghetti.

Then we had kiwis, green grapes, broccoli and a green salad.  I wanted to make some green kool-aid but there were some problems: no green kool-aid in the house and no more than 2 Tablespoons of sugar left in the sugar canister.  So we opted for green milk—-yellow and blue makes green!

St. Patrick's Day Lunch_beckinpa.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After lunch I made a creamy avocado dip that we are enjoying this afternoon.  But I can’t wait until later tonight when we take another tip from Two Peas & Their Pod and make some chocolate mint shakes.

This green lunch didn’t take too much time nor too much planning but my girls loved it and thought it was fun.  Making Memories!!!

Enjoy!

 

3 responses »

  1. I’ve been meaning to comment on this for a while. Your lunch inspired me to do something fun for dinner on St. Patty’s Day. I already had dinner planned, but I added green beans and green peppers. I also ran to the store to get ice cream for mint chocolate chip shakes. I am a Bryer’s girl, so after buying the ice cream, I quickly realized I would need to dye it green, since their mint choc. chip is white….oops! 🙂 Kids loved it! Thanks for the great ideas!!

Leave a Reply

