Enchilada Casserole- Slow Cooker

Standard

Here is another “near” magic pot recipe that we tried tonight.  It is a vegetarian dish that also earned 4 smiley faces from our family of four.  It is intended to be prepared in a smaller slow cooker ( 3 1/2 quart) but it worked fine in my big slow cooker.  If I have more than four mouths at my table it would be easy to double this one.  I made this exactly like the recipe out of the Southern Living Ultimate Quick and Easy Cookbook except that I used a 15 oz can of corn rather than an 11 oz can of mexi-corn.  I just hate to pay more for that!

Enchilada Casserole

Stir together in your slow cooker:

  • 2 Tablespoons chopped green chiles
  • 3/4 cup chunky salsa (I used Pace’s mild version)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can yellow corn
  • 1 10 oz can of enchilada sauce (I used Old El Paso’s Green Enchilada sauce)

Cover and cook on Low for 4 hours

Stir together in a bowl:

  • 1 Tablespoon green chiles
  • 1 package corn muffin mix (8.5 oz box version)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 Tablespoons chopped roasted red bell peppers

Spoon the batter evenly over the bean mixture in the slow cooker (well, mine was more like glop it on top of the enchilada mix)

Cover and cook on Low for 1 hour and 20 minutes or until cornbread is done.

Sprinkle over the cornbread:

  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese (or mexican blend as I did….hmmmm….maybe I didn’t follow the recipe exactly)

Cover and allow the cheese to melt

Serve with sour cream if desired.

Obviously the spicier your salsa the spicier the dish.  I was cooking for mild-mouths so we made it more tame.  I served it with Ranch Style Beans, a green salad and apple slices.

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. This sounds great, too, but I think I might want to put some cooked, ground beef or chicken in mine..don’t know, though..those beans and corn sound plenty yummy, too. I printed out the other recipe you had on today. All I can say is…you are cooking way too much good food!! We had a salad for lunch and are having a rotisserie chicken with quickly cooked veggies tonight. That’s as good as I can do!!

    Weather is beautiful here. We had talked about going over to Beaumont tonight..eating out and locating this club house that I have to go to on Thurs. for that Woman’s Club meeting. But..I had an hr. long phone call from Sally..then Carol Griffin called on her way into town..btw..she is coming in for Robert Kirkland’s funeral…Jana and Rob’s Dad. She said he had cancer and didn’t live but about a month after he was diagnosed. Anyway..funeral is tomorrow at the Baptist Church..don’t know if I’ll see her while she’s here or not..we’re going to try. So, Rayford gets home from the office and I’m just starting to read my book for the UMW program on Wed., so we are staying in.

    I have to play at the nursing home tomorrow afternoon at 2:30. Think we are going to head for Beaumont when I get done. Weather is so beautiful here…gorgeous. I have planted snapdragons in my front bed..for the first time in my life, I have beautiful snapdragons..never been able to grow them before. I’ve been out in the yard whenever I have a chance.

    Made a new kind of pillowcase on Thurs. that I saw first on U-Tube and told Donna about. Donna Eckols, me and Dana Mearns were sewing. We had lunch together and I didn’t get home until 3. Then I had to make my Amish bread..it was baking day! I must slow down soon or I am going to explode..every week has more going on.

    Much love to all!! Myra

    On Sat, Mar 16, 2013 at 6:09 PM, Becki’s Blog

Leave a Reply

