Mediterranean Salmon

Standard

No, you aren’t on the wrong blog….I’m actually posting a fish recipe!  It is true that I don’t really care to prepare fish but I know it is healthy and should incorporate it more often.  Almost a month ago, my older brother had a heart attack.  In honor of his recovery, I thought I would dig out some of my heart healthy recipes and post a few.  This is one that has been around our house for over three years and it gets four smiley faces each time I make it.

Mediterranean Salmon

Preheat oven to 425°

Place in a single layer in an 11 x 7 baking dish, coated with cooking spray

  • 4 (6 oz) skinless salmon fillets  (OK, reality check here….I don’t take the skin off as the salmon I buy comes with skin on one side.  AND I just fill the pan so often I have 6 fillets)

Sprinkle over both sides of the fish:

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper  (confession….I didn’t measure either salt or pepper)

Combine in a bowl and then spoon over fish:

  • 2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped zucchini
  • 2 Tablespoons capers (I used these the first time I made the recipe and haven’t since as capers are not on my regular shopping list!)
  • 1 Tablespoon of olive oil

Bake for 22 minutes.

We usually serve this with a big salad and some bread; and then, because it is fish, I plan on popping popcorn later when I am starving before bed!

My handsome fella found this recipe for me back in 2010 after I had my own little heart incident (not near as life-threatening as my big brother last month though!).    The recipe sheet I have says it was from a cnn.com health link.  So big brother, try out this recipe.  It is easy AND good for your heart.  Love you!

2 responses »

  1. Becky – this sounds delicious – just make sure it is wild caught salmon and not farm raised. There is a tremendous difference between the two especially how heart healthy the dish will be.

Leave a Reply

