Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Standard

I found this recipe in anticipation of March 1 which is National Peanut Butter Lover’s Day, but we did not get them made.  We had some time this afternoon so I got things started and then my first born came in to help me finish the baking process.  We didn’t follow the recipe I found online exactly so I will just post what we did as I know it worked.  I would imagine that you have these ingredients already so don’t wait….get up and get baking, you will be glad you did.

PB & C Cupcakes (Peanut Butter and Chocolate)

Preheat oven to 375º

Line Muffin tin with paper cups (we did 12 large and then 21 small)

In a large bowl combine and then mix on high speed until creamy

  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Gradually add, mixing until light and fluffy:

  • 1 1/2 cups brown sugar

Add to the peanut butter mixture with the mixer running

  • 2 eggs (add one at a time)

In a separate bowl combine:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Keeping the mixer running, add the dry mixture to the batter a little at a time alternating with the milk until incorporated

  • 3/4 cup milk

Now distribute the mixture amongst the paper muffin cups.  For large cupcakes, fill 1/4 of the cup, place an unwrapped, upside down Hershey Kiss in the cup then fill to the 1/2 way point to allow for expansion while baking.  For small cupcakes fill 1/2 full using chocolate sprinkles rather than a Hershey Kiss.  (I used a Pampered Chef Rotary Grater that I’ve had for years).

We baked the large cupcakes for 18 minutes (bake until firm or a toothpick comes out clean….but don’t hit the melted chocolate when you check!)

The small cupcakes took about 9 minutes in our oven.

We removed them from the pan and let them cool on a wire rack.  Then we frosted with a bit of marshmallow creme and sprinkled more chocolate shavings on top.  YUM.

PB & C Cupcakes from beckinpa.wordpress.com

2 responses »

  1. Oh my!! I’m salivating! I’m definitely running this one off and trying it. Sounds almost identical to the peanut blossom cookies that I’ve made several times.

Leave a Reply

