Yummy Breakfast Bread

Standard

We have to capture breakfast on many days as our time for a family meal.  So I am often looking for recipes that meet my requirements of easy and yummy for which we can use at breakfast time.  I found this recipe in the Women’s Day March 2013 issue while waiting at the dance studio for one of my girls earlier this week.  I had to actually hand write the recipe down as I don’t have a smart phone to take a picture of it!  I think I got everything written down correctly as it came out fabulously this morning.  We give it 3 1/2 smiley faces.  My 7 1/2 year old said that she didn’t care for the strawberry chunks yet she ate half of her serving so she did kind of like it.  The only drawback is that it takes 45 minutes in the oven and then you have prep time on top of that.  For a Saturday that isn’t a problem but on a weekday I would probably make this the night before as I am NOT a morning person.

Strawberry-Banana Bread

Heat oven to 350º

Grease and flour a 9 x 13 inch casserole dish.  (I like to use shortening and then dust over it with flour)

In a large bowl whisk together (I actually did this the night before so I had less to do on Saturday morning)

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt

In a medium bowl lightly beat:

  • 4 eggs

Add to the eggs:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 Tablespoon grated lemon zest (I’m sure this would be yummy, yet I didn’t have a lemon to zest.  Rather I put in almost a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon juice instead)

Whisk to combine the egg mixture.

Mash and stir into egg mixture:

  • 2 large, ripe bananas (about 1 cup)

Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and mix just until incorporated

Fold into the mixture:

  • 1 pound of chopped strawberries
  • (if you like walnuts in your house you can put in 1 1/2 cup chopped walnuts….but my family doesn’t care for nuts)

Pour the batter into the prepared dish and bake for about 45-50 minutes until a wooden toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  It took our bread 45 minutes.

Transfer to a cooling rack and let cool for 5 minutes

Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, whisk together until smooth:

  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice

Spread the icing over the warm cake, then let cool completely.

Enjoy!

Strawberry-Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

