Chicken Noodle Yum!

Standard

That is the name my girls gave to the dish I created tonight…..yes….I actually made something without any recipe—miracles DO still happen.

I am not one that likes to go-it-alone in the kitchen without a recipe because I HATE to mess up and I HATE to waste food (and messed up food is a waste!).  But tonight I was stuck.  Thursday nights are often quesadillas or burritos for us (Dad isn’t home for dinner).  Both of those options require tortillas and I was low on tortillas.  The other Thursday night option is often pancakes and I just wasn’t in the mood.  So I hit the freezer.  There I found some of my favorite grilled chicken strips from Tyson’s.

Tysons chicken

 

But what could I do with them?

 

 

Egg Noodles_Great Value Brand copy

 

Ahhh…..some noodles….but what else?

 

 

 

campbells_cream_of_chicken-homemakerchic-com

 

 

Good ole “Cream of” to the rescue….I could mix that in with some milk to thin it out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Chicken Noodle Yum!

Boil water to prepare 3 cups of medium egg noodles.

2 cups of  Tyson’s Grilled and Ready chicken

  • warm the chicken in a non-stick skillet for 3 minutes

Add to chicken

  • one can of cream of chicken soup
  • milk…probably 1/4 cup????  The purpose was to thin out the soup- I didn’t measure as I dumped the soup in a 2 cup measuring cup and then poured milk over it until the milk was even with the dumped out soup.
  • stir and pour over the chicken warming in the skillet

By this time your noodles should be done.

Drain the noodles and add to the chicken and soup mixture.

Then I seasoned with salt and pepper.

I also had some spices from Christmas from my MIL.  I sprinkled the Pasta Sprinkle from Penzeys Spices over everything.  Basically this is just basil, oregano, garlic and tyme in a jar!

Serve warm.

Both of my girls ate it right up and I loved that we had a warm meal quickly after a busy afternoon.

 

Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Sounds great!! I cooked a simple dinner, too….at Casa don Boni!! Pop had a meeting at 5..I had a church meeting at 6..so after our meetings, we “met” to eat! Thanks for the cudos to the MIL!! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

