Mexican Fiesta Night

Standard

It is no secret that I love Mexican food.  When I lived in an area where I could throw a rock and hit a Tex-Mex restaurant, I never prepared it at home….we just enjoyed a night out.  BUT now I live in the land of Pizza Places so Tex-Mex is hard to find.  Tonight was Friday and nothing says “Welcome to the Weekend” better than a nice plate of Mexican food.  So I’m going to share with you a recipe for Cheese Enchiladas that I have compiled over the last year from a variety of sources into my own recipe.  PLUS I have a Mexican rice and an easy sopaipillas recipe to share with you.  The other item on our plates came from Trader Joe’s Freezer section—Roasted Corn other times we have had canned refried beans.

Now you too can have your own Mexican Fiesta Night.

Cheese Enchiladas

First prepare the enchilada sauce.

In a skillet, heat for 1 to 2 minutes (I whisk it together in the skillet for the time frame)

  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch

Whisk into the skillet mixture:

  • 2 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth if you want to go vegetarian)

Add and continue to whisk:

  • 1 small can of tomato sauce (8 oz)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • dash of cayenne pepper (several dashes if you like to kick up the heat)

Let simmer for 5 to 6 minutes before you start to make the enchiladas

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Spread sauce in the bottom of your glass baking dishes.  I use a 9 x 12 pan for the enchiladas that will have onions and an 8 x 8 pan for those that will not have the pleasure of onions joining them.

Now you need:

  • 10-14 corn tortillas
  • 2 1/2- 3 cups of shredded cheese (I often use a mixture of sharp cheddar and Mexican blend)
  • 1 package of queso fresco.  Mine was round and I cut it into strips so that I could lay a strip in a tortilla.

Prepare the Enchiladas:

Place a tortilla down in the sauce and let it get “happy” in the sauce.  It should be covered in sauce to help it become pliable.

Once it has had a good bath in the sauce for about 15 seconds (I’m guessing on that as I didn’t count while doing it I just eyed it.  I hate it though when a recipe doesn’t tell me how long!….sorry)….so once it has had the sauce bath, place a strip of queso fresco and then sprinkle a couple of Tablespoons of shredded cheese down the center of the tortilla.  If you want to add chopped onions at this point go ahead.

Now pick up the tortilla and roll up the sides.

Lay it seam side down in the dish.

Repeat using all the tortillas and almost all of the cheese.

Spread any remaining sauce over the top of the enchiladas.

Sprinkle with the remaining cheese (crumble the queso fresco at this point).

Sprinkle the onion enchiladas with more onions if you so desire!

Bake in the preheated oven for 15 to 20 minutes or until the sauce is bubbling and the cheese has melted.

 

Mexican Rice

This dish was given to me by a friend in Texas.  She shared it at her MOPS group and then I shared it with my MOMS group!  My handsome fella loves this one.  I like to start this just before beginning the process on the enchiladas as it takes about 30 minutes for my rice to get to the desired “doneness”.

Heat in skillet (that has a lid because you will need to cover this):

  • 3 Tablespoons of oil

Add to skillet and allow to brown for 3 to 4 minutes:

  • 1 cup raw rice (I like Uncle Ben’s)

Add to skillet:

  • 1 onion, chopped

Mix together and then add to the skillet:  (watch out as when you add this it will steam up)

  • 1 small can of tomato sauce and enough water to make 2 cups of liquid (if they don’t shrink the can size that should be a can of tomato sauce (8oz) and then a can of water)

Sprinkle with seasonings:

  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin powder
  • salt
  • pepper (I like to go heavier on the pepper than the salt)

Bring to a boil

Cover and Cook on low for 20 minutes—-do NOT peak, or stir.

If after 20 minutes the liquid is not all absorbed, you can leave the burner on for 3 to 5 more minutes and then check.  If it is getting there but not quite where you would like it then turn the burner off and let it sit on the burner.  (I have an electric stove top so it remains hot for a while after turning the burner off).  Remove from burner once all the water is absorbed.

 

Easy Sopaipillas

These are so yummy to finish off  your Mexican themed meal.  You can make your own dough from scratch and mess with all of that OR you can follow this recipe!

You will need a deep skillet, a deep-fry thermometer (I didn’t realize I had one and after many years I finally opened a wedding gift that I had been moving, in the package from place to place to place all these years!), and tongs.

In the deep skillet heat

  • 1/2 inch of vegetable oil  until the deep-fry thermometer registers 350 degrees.

While the oil is heating up cut into wedges:

  • flour tortillas (however many you think you can eat!)

Also prepare you cinnamon and sugar to sprinkle over the top.  I always have this mixed up for cinnamon toast for our breakfast needs.

Working in batches, drop about 3 or 4 tortilla wedges in the hot oil.

Turn them once until bubbly and golden on both sides.

Remove from the oil to a paper towel-lined plate and sprinkle, generously, with the combined cinnamon/sugar.

Continue frying the tortillas until you have prepared enough for your crew.  Sometimes you may need to let the oil return to 350 between batches….but be careful to not let the oil get too hot—I speak from experience as I had some crispy ones tonight as I got distracted while letting the oil heat up

Now “Ándele! Ándele!” As Speedy Gonzales would always say, and go get these items so you can enjoy a Mexican fiesta in your own casa!

 

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chicken Enchiladas | Becki's Blog

  2. Pingback: When a Tex-Mex Restaurant is Nowhere Nearby :( | Becki's Blog

  3. Pingback: Mexican Brownies go gluten-free! | Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

