Sweet or Sour

Standard

Today has been one of those days that I would love to be able to play over and over and over again.  It wasn’t anything crazy and remarkable, just a day when I look back and I realize how much I love my family and how wonderful they are.  When I started this blog a few years ago, it took on this “recipes for the table and for life” tag line.  Most of the time I share recipes for the table- those seem much easier to come by!   On occasion though, there are things that I realize are great recipes for life and just have to share.

Today has been one of those days.

  • I ate breakfast, lunch and dinner with every member of my family.
  • I spent 5 hours out with my girls running errands buying stuff not for us (ok, we did pick up some candy as a treat and some contact solution for Dad since were were going by Wal-Mart too—-what errand run is complete without Wal-Mart?!) but everything was really for stuff at church and we didn’t kill each other and I didn’t have to break up any arguments.
  • We started our day round-robin reading from the book of Proverbs.  Which is something we have done a few times already this summer.
  • We had a great conversation at dinner about what it means to be a team thanks to the imom.com conversation starters.  Then my family indulged me in creating a family cheer.  I have yet to hear them all say it, but they sure do get a laugh out of seeing me do the cheer!
  • We ended the night watching a movie together– which we checked out for free from the Media library (free 7-day rentals!).  We watched Cheaper by the Dozen.  I thought it was a remake of an old movie….but I think I was thinking of With Six you get Egg Rolls.  Anyhow, the movie was hilarious and we laughed and then I almost cried at other points. It was great to be together and hear the laughter and see the smiles on each face.

The last time I can remember a day that I wanted to recapture was just over a year ago when our family experienced our first Phillies game.  It was an awesome evening.  The weather was perfect, the seats were great (very high up, but still great), the Phillies won, and we all had a blast.  Then the next day my world crashed—I was told that my job of eleven years no longer needed my skills.  Ouch.  Life is like that, ups and downs…ins and outs…sweet and sour.

The downs, outs and sours help us appreciate the ups, ins and sweets so much more.

Today has been one of the good days and it wasn’t because we were at Disney or some other crazy, fun vacation spot but it has been a good day because of the tried and true ingredients of

  • Time
  • Togetherness
  • Laughter

We took time to start our day with the One who gave us to each other.

We took time to enjoy each other and to talk.

We helped each other out.

We were a family.

Yep, this might just be my favorite recipe yet!

The great thing about this recipe is that it works for the ups and the downs.  Sure we all prefer the ins to the outs but it is family that helps us through it all.

Everyday isn’t like today.  Just last week I was ready to cut holes in the bottom of each child’s door to pass food through and let them come out on Labor Day.  Yep, our summer got off to a bumpy start even with all my planning and wishing.  I mention that so you know that life is not all “Norman Rockwell” around here!

I know that tomorrow is a new day.  I have no idea what the future holds but I know the One who holds the future.

I’m so glad that my family is with me regardless of if it is sweet or sour.

One response »

Leave a Reply

