Lemon-Dill Shrimp and Pasta- Easy, Fast, Healthy AND Good!

Standard

I am making an effort to find recipes that don’t use a can of cream of something in them.  That is hard for this casserole-lovin’ Southern girl.  But it is in the best interest of my family to make some changes.

(I’m not getting rid of ALL cream-ofs, just making fewer!)

This recipe I found on the Better Homes and Garden website.  I made it tonight and it was given the four smiley face rating! (One for each member of my family)  The only complaint was that my 10-year-old wanted to have more shrimp.  But we all had plenty!  I served this recipe and a plate of cut up cucumbers and carrots as our dinner.

I will let you know that you will want to have all the ingredients out and ready because once you start the shrimp cooking, it all seems to go fast.  I had a hard time finding our Italian seasoning and spent the three minutes the shrimp cook in a panic….almost concocting my own, when I moved the baking soda and there it was!

Lemon-Dill Shrimp and Pasta

Prepare by thawing, peeling, and deveining

  • 1 lb of shrimp

Let shrimp rest in the refrigerator until you are ready for them.

Cook according to package directions:

  • 8 ounces of Angel Hair pasta (fettuccine is what the BHG recipe called for)

Finely Shred

  • 1 teaspoon of lemon peel

Juice

  • 1 lemon (for about 2 Tablespoons of juice)

Now in a large skillet, heat over medium heat:

  • 2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil

Cook in hot oil for about one minute:

  • 3-4 garlic cloves, thinly sliced

Add to the oil and garlic:

  • Shrimp (thawed, peeled and deveined)

Allow that to cook for about 3 to 4 minutes, turning often until the shrimp are opaque.

Add to the pan:

  • 6 cups of baby spinach
  • the drained pasta

Toss just until the spinach begins to wilt

True confessions here—my skillet has low sides on it and it was not big enough to hold all the spinach prior to it wilting down….so my handsome fella (who was assisting since the Italian Seasoning fiasco) put it all in the pasta pot until it wilted down, then I guess he moved it back to the skillet as that is what we served from to the plates.

Stir in

  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon peel
  • 2 Tablespoons of lemon juice
  • Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  • Top with fresh dill (we didn’t do this nor did I remember to put the dried dill on it!)

Serve at once

One response »

  1. Another one for me…yahoo! I was just thinking..isn’t it time for Becki to post another recipe? We’re having packaged pasta with chicken tonight, but it’s very good…I put fresh spinach in it and wilted it. It was fresh about 20 minutes ago, but Pop is late getting home..oh well…maybe it will be fine.

Leave a Reply

