Easy Frittata (AKA Sun and Fun Frittata)

Standard

If you need a fast dinner and you have eggs and deli ham in the refrigerator, then this meal is for you!  Several years ago I found a recipe on kraftfoods.com for an Easy Herb Frittata.  The first time I made this for my family I called it the “Sun and Fun Frittata” in hopes that my girls, then 2 and 5 would eat it….they did!  And even tonight with a few different things thrown in the mix—they gobbled it up.

This really is an easy one to whip up.  I was able to mix up the eggs and goodies and just leave it in the refrigerator for my husband to then pour into the greased pie plate and slip it into the oven so we could eat as a family when child #2 and I walked in from dance class.  We served it with a wonderful mixed green salad.

Since finding the recipe I have tweaked it to make it my own…here is how I make it.

Sun and Fun Frittata

Beat, with a wire whisk (or just a fork!)  in a mixing bowl:

  • 8 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons of water

Stir in:

  • deli ham (I usually just tear it up and stop putting it in when it looks like enough!  The original recipe says 4 oz)
  • snip up some fresh parsley (I have some growing in a pot on my deck)
  • add any other leftover vegetables you might want to include.  This time I had some fresh mushrooms that I sliced and chopped for our dish.  Red or Green bell peppers would be good too.
  • a nice handful of mozzarella cheese (or swiss or a Italian blend would work too)

Finish off by adding to taste:

  • dash or so of white pepper (I used white pepper originally because my girls would balk at anything dark in their food.  They have grown out of that but I still use the white pepper!)
  • dash or salt

Now you can cover and place that in the refrigerator until you are ready to pour and bake.

Pour Egg mixture into a greased 9-inch pie plate

Bake, in a preheated 350° oven, for 30 minutes or until puffed and golden brown.

I would recommend that you make two if you have more than 3 good eaters in your family.  We are a family of four (two of those four being girls under the age of 11) and only had one little sliver left.

 

One response »

  1. I finally got my printer turned on and have printed this and the Chili Mac out. This looks so yummy. I think I may be able to make this one..some of yours are too complicated for me!! Heard from Brad. He sounds great! We will talk to you on Sunday. I got sick after my big party!! So much for the party girl!! But, it was great fun while it lasted. I told Brad it was a good thing that both of you and B&E didn’t see my do the shimmy…you would have disowned me on the spot!

Leave a Reply

