Mexican Casserole

Standard

It was a dark and stormy night…perfect for a warm, filling meal like Mexican Casserole!  This is a recipe that my mother-in-law wrote down in a cookbook she gave to us for our wedding.  So we have been eating this one for 18 years!  It doesn’t really fit with my “lean and healthy” recipes that I’ve been trying to make more of lately but the day was just screaming for something in our comfort food genre.  I had all the ingredients on hand.

Mexican Casserole

Brown in a skillet:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 medium onion, chopped

Drain off fat and return to the skillet.

Add to the meat mixture:

  • 1 can Ranch Style beans
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can Ro-Tel
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp chili powder

Stir and then simmer for 10 minutes.

Layer in a greased 3 quart casserole dish

  • Tortilla chips
  • meat mixture
  • grated cheddar cheese

Repeat layers.

Bake, uncovered for 30 minutes in a 300° oven.

We like to serve it with salsa, pico and/or sour cream.

If you live north of the Mason-Dixon line it might be hard to find the Ranch Style Beans.  KMart often carries them so try there.  I am thankful to my SIL who supplies me with them via the “if it fits it ships” boxes from the USPS.

3 responses »

  1. I’ll have to copy this down because I had forgotten about it. Thanks for posting one of mine! By the way, tell your husband to call his mother…he called his grandmother, but not me. I’m taking names!!

  2. Your birthday is NEXT weekend 😉 I’m sure he will call you for your birthday too! Hope y’all had a good trip to visit Granny. We sure enjoyed this recipe tonight and told the girls how it was one from your cookbook.

  3. Oh..I’ll tell him that’s not good enough…he has to call me every time he calls my mother, because she grins really wide and brags that SHE heard from Brad!! I had a really bad day Sat., but finally better by yesterday. Proud you enjoyed this recipe..I don’t think I’ve made it in about 18 years! It was one of Mom’s, I’m pretty sure. Try to stay warm and dry!

Leave a Reply

