Chili Mac- quick and easy

Standard

Thursday nights at our house are just the girls and I for dinner.  Often times ( I must confess) I simply open up their favorite cans of dinner and heat and serve….yes the dreaded Chef Boyardee and Spaghettios.  OK, I said it—confession is good for the soul.

But this week, even though I had the cans in the pantry, I decided to make something for dinner.  I had a Chili Mac recipe that I’ve made before but I didn’t really follow it.  Here is what I did instead (these items are almost always in my pantry/refrigerator so this works for a good “throw down” meal)

Chili Mac

In a large skillet cook over medium heat:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 c chopped onion

Drain off fat from beef

Stir into meat and onions:

  • 1 can of Ro-Tel
  • chopped green bell pepper (I put about 3/4 cup in)
  • 8 oz tomato sauce
  • 1/2 of the tomato sauce can of water…so I guess that would be 4 oz!
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 cup dried elbow macaroni

Bring all of that to a boil

Cover, reduce heat to simmer and cook for 15-20 minutes or until the pasta is tender.

I cut up some strawberries and put out some raw mini-carrots and voila! dinner is served.

Enjoy 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Wow..I’m turning on my printer and get this one printed out…probably the brownie one too, since we’re confessing! I made a simple shrimp dish last night..can send you..really good, but my rice was crunchy! The recipe said to cook the raw rice in the dish, but I will pre-cook next time.

Leave a Reply

