How to Make Angel Food Cake Simply Sublime

Standard

My oldest will be 10 tomorrow and we are anxiously awaiting her official “double digits day”.  Since Dad has to work tomorrow evening, we celebrated tonight with her favorite meal: Steak and potatoes.  I realized that I luck out on her birthday as that is also my favorite meal.  She and I also don’t really care for birthday cake.  She prefers angel food cake…and I do to actually—score another win for me!!!

A few years ago I stumbled across a very easy lime syrup that when drizzled over angel food cake it is just so yummy, you will want some more (well, I have to admit the other half of our family would prefer chocolate cake for every celebration).

Since this is a 10th birthday and the birthday girl wanted angel food cake, I was able to come up with a solution that pleased everyone.  I “made” a number ten cake:

The angel food cake pleased the birthday girl and the pound cake pleased her Daddy and little sister.  I had various toppings for the cakes.  One was the sauce that I will give you the recipe for below; the other toppings included:

We had yummy Lemon and Lime Curd which just happened to be on sale this week at our local grocery store so I bought two!  (ya know…who can pick between lemon or lime).  Then we had our favorite whipped topping, some chocolate sauce, and cookies and cream sprinkles.  There was something for everyone.

Simply Sublime Syrup

Mix in a small saucepan:

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 cup water

Bring to a boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar.

Once the sugar is dissolved, remove from heat.

You can then put it in a container and place in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Before serving you may want to add a little lime zest (about 1 teaspoon) to the syrup…but it isn’t necessary.

Serve up your angel food cake slices with some fresh fruit and drizzle a little syrup over and ….oh, yes… it is sublime.

It will make you smile!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

