Dr. Seuss and Texas

Standard

Tomorrow is March 2 and it is a fun and historic day.  Dr. Seuss was born on March 2, 1904 and another great birth to celebrate on March 2 is Texas Independence Day (1836).

We might start our morning off with some green eggs and ham to honor Dr. Seuss and then with some yummy Texas foods (Dr. Pepper, Ranch Style Beans, Fajitas, or some chili—no beans of course for authentic Texas flare!) later for dinner.

My first grader came home with a fun website they looked at while in school: http://www.seussville.com/ Your kids might enjoy it too.  Since my girls are out of school on Friday, we will be heading to the theater to see The Lorax movie.  On pinterest this week I found these fun little treats for Dr. Seuss celebrations:

Find these and more fun ideas at http://fancyfrugallife.blogspot.com/

I wish I could just head from the theater over to The Texican and grab a shredded chicken chimichanga with queso on top for dinner…but that won’t be possible since it is a 27 hour drive.  I will have to improvise here with some of the above mentioned food items.  Fortunately I have Ranch Style beans thanks to my wonderful sister-in-law that took advantage of the USPS’s “If it fits, it ships!”  I did find this new-to-me website and quickly flipped through it.  They seem to have many recipes that look to be a good representation of recipes for authentic Texas food. I also stumbled across this fun Texas History site for kids.

Whatever you do on Friday, enjoy your day!

 

Leave a Reply

