Crafty Cupid

Standard

This is a year of new things for me so why not get all crafty during Valentine’s day as crafty and Becki are usually not found in the same sentence!  Well I didn’t do a TON of crafts but two and then I made lots of Valentine’s day foods for my loves.  The crafts win out this year over the food though.

Let me share what all I did and where I found the ideas:

Craft #1

This Valentine Topiary was very easy to do EXCEPT that my 6 year old burned her finger on the glue gun.  I felt so bad as I had envisioned this activity as a happy time with Mom and daughters sitting around chatting and crafting.  Well, I ended up doing it by myself after H burned her finger and E didn’t ever care to glue the hearts…just eat them.  The styrofoam ball that I purchased was a tad big…but it worked out fine.  I bought a white ball so I didn’t have to mess with covering up the green of the “flower foam” kind of ball.  I found this idea while I was “pinteresting” one day  (that would be actively looking on pinterest one day).  Glue Guns and spatulas was the blog post that has the directions.

Craft #2:

The leftovers

I wish I had remembered to take a picture of all of the hearts in their final form.  Heather and Emily made beautiful crayon hearts and then we (or rather I) sewed them to cardstock with Valentine sayings on them.  These were fun to do, but my fingernails did take a hit with all the scraping of crayon wrappers.  We found that the newer the crayon, the easier the wrapper came off.  My favorite crayons were the ones with the yellows/greens/orange all swirled together.  There are all kinds of pinterest places to find this craft idea but this is the one that I pinned that gave the idea to do this: Crayonhearts

Food idea #1

I found this recipe for 2-ingredient fudge and thought it sounded like something Emily would like to eat.  Then a friend of mine blogged on it and said how easy it really was so I decided to make it for my girls on Valentine’s day.  Since I can’t remember where I originally found the recipe, I will link you to Amy’s blog 🙂

Valentine Desserts

 Food Idea #2

The other sweet treat on the platter is a red-velvet cookie.  It is pretty simple to make as you use a boxed mix.  This idea/recipe came from the yummy blog of Two Peas and Their Pod.  Food Idea #3 came from them too.

Food Idea #3

This Chocolate Dutch Baby was very easy to whip up the morning of Valentine’s Day and while it baked I threw some cheese filled smokies on the stove and grabbed the extra four heart-shaped muffins that I made for H’s first grade class (they only needed 18 and I sent 20 so really sending 24 would have been WAY too many…right…so it was a good thing to do–see).  It was a fun breakfast even though neither of my little loves enjoyed the Chocolate Dutch Baby—my handsome fella loved it though 🙂

Food Idea #4

This one came from Jen Myers at our Moms4Moms group that meets at Faith Community Church.  This one was the only one that my kids really loved.  It was quite simple.  Get the canned breadsticks from the store.  Stretch each one out about 12 inches and then shape into a heart.  Brush it with raw egg and sprinkle with your favorite topping.  For H we had kosher salt, for E we had cinnamon sugar, Brad and I had Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese and then there were a few plain ones.  I also made pink homemade applesauce for our dinner—another recipe from Jen.  I’ve made it before and it was a hit then too.

So our day was all about food and I was in the kitchen for most of the day EXCEPT when my handsome fella called home to tell me he was coming home early from work to take me out to lunch!  That was a fun little treat.  We ate at Qdoba and for a kiss in front of the cashier they gave us our second entree free!!

Here are some more pictures from our day:

The traditional Valentine's Day hunt ended with these treats for the girls.

 

Brad and H go through her cards from school.

 

This is where I was most of the day!

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. WOW!! MAKES ME FEEL REALLY BAD FOR NOT COOKING AT ALL FOR MY HANDSOME FELLA! BUT, HE DIDN’T GET ME ANYTHING, FOR VALENTINE, SO THERE! I’VE MENTIONED THAT TO HIM SEVERAL TIMES! I HAD TRIVIUM THAT NIGHT, SO WE WERE LOADED WITH FOOD, BUT I DIDN’T FIX ANY OF IT. THESE ARE SUCH CUTE IDEAS. I WILL PRINT OFF THE THINGS THAT AREN’T FOOD, ALTHO’ THEY SOUND VERY YUMMY. I NOTICED THE CUTE HEART PLACEMATS AND LOOKED LIKE DECORATED GLASSES IN ONE OF THE PICS. HOW DID YOU DO THOSE??

    OBVIOUSLY, YOU ARE MUCH CRAFTIER THAN YOU THINK! MYRA

  2. The heart placemats are a purchase from many years ago when I realized I had absolutely nothing “Valentine-y” in the house. The glasses are just water with strawberries in them as I forgot to make tea that night and didn’t want to just serve plain water 🙂
    I’m sure your place looked perfect as you got it all ready for Trivium that night!

  3. Hey..I’m in here looking at your recipes again…that’s become a habit! I was hoping you didn’t also make the placemats..I would have felt really un-crafty! I am printing out the “Easy” Jambalaya…not so easy for me, I’m sure, but it looks really tasty, so I’m going to print it out and hopefully try it soon.

    Feeling much better today..up and doing things..Vacuumed the house..cleaned bathrooms and now I have the other computer and printer on so I can catch up on my printing for the month!

  4. Ps…Yes, the house looked great for Trivium…but it almost killed me. Not sure that entertaining is worth what it does to the old body! I think this sugar deal is going to work very well for me..already feeling much better and it can’t be the new medicine because I haven’t taken it yet!

Leave a Reply

