Easy Meaty Ziti

Standard

I prepared this recently and it made the house smell divine and it was devoured at dinner.

Easy Meaty Ziti (with Spinach)

Don’t forget to defrost your 9 oz package of frozen, creamed spinach.  I always hate to get to the middle of the recipe and realize that something was to be defrosted already!!!

 

Boil water in a large pot to cook 8 oz ziti to al dente

  • once water is boiling, add ziti and cook it half-way (for me that is about 6 minutes)
  • drain once it is done

Cook in a large skillet over medium-high heat, stirring to break up the lumps:

  • 1 lb ground beef

Stir into the beef just before it finishes browning:

  • 2 to 4 cloves of crushed garlic
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp dried basil

Stir into the meat

  • 1 large (24-26 oz) jar of marinara sauce
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce

Spoon 1 cup of the meat sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 13 glass/ceramic pan.

Arrange on top of the sauce in an even layer:

  • 8 oz ziti (you have already prepped this)

Pour remaining meat sauce over the ziti

Spread evenly over the top:

  • 9 oz package of creamed spinach

Make sure all the ziti is covered and happy in the sauce.

Cover the baking dish with foil

(You can make this dish 1 day ahead up to this point and then just refrigerate it until you are ready to bake)

Bake at 375, covered for about 30-45 minutes.  (I usually do close to 45)

Remove the baking dish from the oven and carefully remove the foil.

Scatter over the top of the ziti:

  • 2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese or Italian cheese blend

Recover with foil (spray it with cooking spray if you are afraid the foil will stick to the cheese)

Bake for about 5 minutes.

Remove from oven and let it rest until all the cheese has melted…about 5 minutes more.

Serve it nice and hot!

 

 

One response »

  1. I am going to print this out now! I told Dar about the “Messy Mexican” dish and she made it last night. Told me that her crew loved it..they hardly had any left over, but Ethan is eating at home, so that explains that! I am going to go into your blog again soon and see what else I want to run off. I got a good many of your recipes, but I probably missed something else that I want.

    PS..just wrote all of you about my Dr.’s report. I read your blog list this morning about getting help with the chores. All I can say is that we raised two great young men who never did anything at home..nothing! I’m amazed that I haven’t had to have surgery on my scream function! But…they have turned into great husbands who have helped their wives, so maybe there’s hope for after they get married!

Leave a Reply

