Easy Pie Crust

Standard

Today was a first for me.  Rather than run to the store to get a packaged pie crust for my chicken pot pie, I actually made my own!  I figured it would be cheaper as I can hardly ever walk into the store for one item and come out with just that one item (I bet I’m not alone in that!).

Here is my pie crust on top of our chicken pot pie ready to bake.

A good friend of mine gave me this Martha Stewart recipe several years ago when I decided that at Thanksgiving I would make my own pie crust for pumpkin pie.  Since then I have made it only at Thanksgiving and continued to buy store-bought for everything else throughout the year.   I tried to link to the web address for the recipe but it comes up as a bad address now…guess Martha re-vamped her website.  So, if you are ever in need of a pie crust and don’t want to run to the store, this one is really easy to make.

Pate Brisee (Pie Dough)

In the bowl of a food processor, combine:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) chilled, unsalted butter that you have cut into small pieces.

Process the above mixture until it resembles coarse meal….about 8-10 seconds says Martha…but I’m probably more like 10-15 seconds.

Next you will need:

  • 1/4- 1/2 cup ice water.  (I like to put 1/2 cup of cold water in the fridge with a few ice cubes while I get everything else going.  Then when I need the cold water, I remove the ice cubes and make sure I’m starting with 1/2 cup of water)

With the  machine running, add ice water in a slow, steady stream through the feed tube.

Pulse until dough holds together without being wet or sticky.  Be careful not to process more than 30 seconds.

To test, squeeze a small amount together.  If it is crumbly, add more ice water, 1 T at a time.  (I find that I use about 1/4 cup of water)

Divide the dough into two equal balls.  Flatten each ball into a disc and wrap in plastic.  Place them in the refrigerator and chill at least 1 hour.

The dough can be stored, frozen, up to 1 month.

Oh, and if you are wondering “Pate Brisee” is the French version of classic pie or tart pastry.  Pressing the dough into a disc rather than shaping it into a ball allows it to chill faster.  (So says Martha and you know that Martha knows her stuff!)

 

3 responses »

  1. Easy to understand and follow. Maybe I will try for Jeff.:) Your hearts were a cute personal touch. Bet the girls liked it.

    • Yes Trish…if I can do it then it must be easy! I like things that are tasty but not a lot of trouble 🙂
      And yes, the girls loved the hearts…they wouldn’t eat them but each wanted one on their plates.

  2. Pingback: Easy Apple Pie « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

