The Hamster Wheel of Motherhood

Standard

It is Monday as I write this post.  My kids are off to school, my husband is back from his business trip, and the clean house that was here on Thursday has somehow disappeared!

I look around me and I have

rooms to dust…again.

clothes to wash….again.

piles to sort through…again.

It seems that I keep saying the same things to my kids…over and over again. 

Where is your ______ for school today?

When I say put the _____ away, it means in the actual place that it belongs…not on the counter top in the bathroom (as with the hairbrush and hairspray) or on the floor in your room (like the million books I asked you to take to your room that were on the dining room table)

Then there are the

meals to plan

groceries to buy

family devotions to plan

Didn’t I do all this last week, and the week before and the week before that??????

Help!  I seem to be stuck on this wheel and can’t get off.

But then I think…do I really want off this wheel?

My family, yes they can push my buttons with the best of them, but they are the most important thing to me in the world.  My calling is to be here for them….to be present.  I guess sometimes that means to be present amongst the piles.  I need to remember that it is the people, the relationships, that are the most important thing.

So, rather than jump off my wheel…I think I will go and spend some time refueling so I can keep running and running.  How will I refuel?  I’m going to grab my Bible and my journal and go spend some time with my Heavenly Father.  I’m going to sit at His feet and let Him recharge me and direct my path.  Then I can keep this wheel moving in the right direction!

9 responses »

  1. Sounds great! But, what I want to know is…when did you dye your hair blonde?? Don’t worry about the kids…it will all get better in 15 or so years!! Actually, Mother used to tell me that these were the best years of my life. I didn’t believe her when I was on the wheel, but she was right.

    Actually, I’m still on a hamster wheel of my own making! Love to all…Mom

    • Not only dye it but cut it too! 🙂
      Granny was right—these are wonderful and precious years. I am thrilled that I have been given the opportunity to be more present with my girls in this last year.

    • Aunt Gwen I don’t want off the wheel…I just need to remember to fuel up each day on the right diet so I can endure the race.
      BTW—your grandkids are cuties. I can’t wait to see Topher’s addition to the crew.

  2. I don’t know a mother who doesn’t feel this way, and staying connected to my Saviour is the only way I make it through some days because of His strength and the trust I have in the calling/place He has me in now.

Leave a Reply

