Soup #1 for our week- Santa Fe Chicken Soup

Standard

It has been C-O-L-D this weekend.  So what is better on a cold weekend than warm soup???!!!  I was actually out of Ro-Tel and we had to make a quick stop by the store on the way home from church for it (I had two recipes and each needed Ro-Tel…it really is staple in our cooking at the Smith house!).  Some of my friends in PA haven’t had the pleasure of meeting Ro-Tel….well let me introduce you:

Ro-Tel: A Smith Family Staple

You can find Ro-Tel at every grocery store now but the best prices are at Target and Wal-Mart.  I cringe to pay over $1 for it, but today I had to as the grocery store was a lot closer than Target/Wal-Mart.

Once I had my can of Ro-Tel, I was able to throw this soup together in no time.  I had the other ingredients on hand because I had planned to make this on Tuesday.  But I like to have a warm, family meal on Sunday and since we threw sandwiches together for lunch…I had to come up with something for dinner.

Enter Santa Fe Chicken Soup….

I shared this recipe about the same time last year!  It was in the crockpot and ready to go in no time thanks to some previously cooked, shredded and frozen chicken I had.

We served the soup with tortilla chips and Fritos along with apple slices of course (that is always my…I know if the girls don’t really eat enough soup they can fill up on Apple slices strategy)

So if you need something quick to throw together and ready to eat in about 3 or 4 hours….this is one for you.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

