Warm Lemon Cake on a Cold Winter’s Night

Standard

My handsome fella said that he sure has enjoyed the meals this week.  I will have to agree that we have eaten pretty well this week.  Monday we had Salisbury steak. The recipe I used is the same one that I cooked for Brad years ago for the very first dinner I ever prepared for him—but that is a story for another day.  Tuesday we had Taco Soup.  I was pleased that while I chopped the onions for the soup, I also cut a few more for Wednesday dinner and Friday night’s too!  Since I had the cutting board out I got the celery chopped for Wednesday’s dinner so all my vegetables were ready to go.

After getting the girls in bed on Tuesday night, I made my way back to the kitchen to prepare Wednesday night’s dinner: Homestyle Chicken and Dressing.  It is a favorite of each member of my family.  It was easy to get together especially since I had a pan of cornbread frozen in the freezer.  (Of course I had to defrost it first…but that was simple enough- I just took it out of the freezer on Tuesday afternoon and by the evening it was ready to crumble up).

Wednesday morning I dumped everything in the crockpot and dotted it with a stick of butter (how can you go wrong with a stick of butter?!!!) and headed out for Moms4Moms at Faith Community Church.  I figured since dinner was already cooking that I had time in the afternoon to prepare dessert.  (Not our regular, pull out the Oreo bag dessert!)

Here is what we made

This was after my crew had dessert; think lemon-filled doughnut and you have the idea!!

Warm Lemon Cake

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Prepare as directed on package:

  • 1 yellow cake mix (regular box mix) (mine called for 3 eggs, water and oil)

Pour the cake mix into a greased 13×9 baking dish and set aside.

In a large bowl mix in this order:

  • 2 cups, cold milk
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 packages of Lemon Flavor Instant Pudding and Pie Filling (4-serving size each)
  • 1/3 cup sugar

Beat with a wire whisk 2 minutes or until well blended.

Pour over batter.

Place your baking dish on a baking sheet to catch any sauce that might bubble over the sides of the dish as the dessert bakes (You don’t want to have to clean the oven later!)

Bake for about an hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool for 20 minutes.

Sprinkle with:

  • 2 Tablespoons of powdered sugar

Serve

Store the leftovers (if you have any) in the refrigerator.

I got this recipe about four years ago on the Kraftfoods.com site.  It says it makes 16 servings.

3 responses »

  1. Looks really good. I wonder what we can substitute for the Lemon Flavor Instant Pudding and Pie Filling, since I don’t think we can get that here.

  2. I’m finally back online..mail went out on Wed. morning, so I have withdrawal symptoms! I got the house cleaned yesterday, so I guess it’s good that I didn’t have access to the computer! This sounds yummy..can’t print from the Mac, so I’ll do that from the HP. If I had only known what I know now..I would never, ever have bought anything other than a Mac. Boy..I love it! Tommy said my mail went out because we were between the two servers..from Comp. Sol. and then Go Daddy, which hadn’t reset yet. Anyway..he showed me blog stuff and he also installed our new printer, so I’m left with figuring out on my own now, which seems to be working pretty well.

    I’ve had lots of dr. appointments this month and I have district UMW to get together before next Sat. Reg. UMW meeting next week and 2 dr. appointments, but Jane has taken the Haiti study and finally done it all by herself! Yahoo!

    Hope everyone is well…we’re busy and cold here. Love to all…Myra

Leave a Reply

