Skillet Chicken and Vegetables

Standard

I love chicken thighs and so does my family.  So this recipe has been a winner for a long time.  I told my girls that I’ve been making this recipe since the turn of the century!  That sounds like  it was so long ago.

The recipe came from a Bon Appetit back in January 2002.  That was before we had kids and took magazines like Bon Appetit 🙂

Skillet Chicken and Vegetables

This takes about 45 minutes from start to finish.

Prepare:

  • 4-6 Chicken thighs w/ skin and bone (I do 6 to feed my crew)

Sprinkle chicken on all sides with:

  • Paprika
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Heat in a heavy, large skillet over medium-high heat

  • 2 Tablespoons vegetable oil

Add chicken and saute until brown (about 3 minutes per side)

Transfer the chicken to a plate

Add to the skillet and stir for 2 minutes:

  • 3/4 lb red-skinned potatoes cut into inch-sized chunks
  • 1 1/2 onions- cut into quarters
  • 3 large carrots, peeled and cut into 1″ pieces

Sprinkle the vegetables with

  • 1 Tablespoon all-purpose flour

Stir to coat the vegetables

Gradually stir in:

  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine

Bring to a boil, stirring frequently

Return the chicken and any juices to the skillet and bring to a boil

I like to slightly bury the chicken back into the vegetables and broth while it finishes cooking.

 

Reduce heat to medium-low.

Cover and simmer until chicken is cooked through (about 30 minutes)

Season with salt and pepper.  Sprinkle with a little parsley for color.

I think this would be good with mashed potatoes for all the wonderful broth….but I usually forget until I’m almost done making it.  Even though it has potatoes in it….I think I will do mashed also next time.

Serve with a big salad and some nice bread.  Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

