Chicken Corn Chowder

Standard

Looking for something quick to throw together and nice and warm to eat?  This recipe will do the trick!  This is a recipe that I got in a handout at the Moms4Moms group I attend at Faith Community Church in Brookhaven.  I made the soup earlier in the day and then pulled it off the stove to store in the refrigerator.  Later, Brad  warmed it up while I was at dance class with one of our daughters.  We served it with french bread, salad and tiny baked potatoes (to some in the local area these may seem like “regular” potatoes but to me they were  1/4 size of a regular potato).  I think the soup needed a bit more salt but I would wait to add that until you taste it all together…always easier to add salt than to take it away 🙂

Chicken Corn Chowder

Melt in Dutch oven over medium-high heat

  • 1 Tablespoon butter

While butter is melting chop

  • 6 green onions: Chop green onion tops; set aside
  • Now to the white portion of the green onion, thinly slice that portion

Add to the melted butter and saute for 2 minutes:

  • The thinly sliced white portions of the green onions

Add to the Dutch oven and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly with a whisk:

  • 2 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

Stir in:

  • 2 cups chopped previously cooked chicken breasts (I pulled out some that I had frozen several weeks ago…made it so easy as I didn’t have to spend time cooking it)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 10 oz package of frozen corn kernels THAWED (I had to run my corn under water.  And the store was out of plain corn…go figure…not even in a big bag!  So I had 10 oz package of Niblets in a butter sauce)
  • 14 oz of chicken broth (I made mine from 2 cubes of bouillon and 1 3/4 cup water)

Bring to a boil and reduce heat to simmer 5 minutes.

While the mixture simmers, combine to blend together:

  • 10 oz of frozen corn kernels THAWED (I had about 12 oz in the freezer from a big bag we have been cooking through that I used)
  • 2 cups milk

Blend the corn and milk until smooth (since my corn wasn’t quite thawed out it looked like some kind of yellow smoothie concoction!)

Add milk mixture to the pan and simmer until thoroughly heated.

To serve sprinkle with green onion tops you chopped early and shredded cheddar cheese.

We didn’t have any leftover, so if you are making this for more than 4…double it or serve “Texas-regular” sized potatoes 🙂

 

5 responses »

  1. Sounds so yummy! I’m up and running after the computer guy was here for two hours. He still has things to do next week. I wrote Brad back and told him everything he did. He’s going to help me with my blog when he comes back next week. I’m going to ask him how to copy your delicious recipes!!

    hate to mention this…but I worked in the yard this afternoon for over an hr. In the 70’s here..just gorgeous! Love to all…Mom

    • It was a yummy little dish. It is one that Fredda makes. The girls were ok with it—I might make soup eaters out of them yet!
      Glad you are getting some help with your computer.

    • Good point Christa…I love pinterest too. I’m just not quick on the whole photo thing but it would be worth it to be able to pin. I will try to do that.
      Thanks for the input!

Leave a Reply

