Christmas means Gingerbread cookies!

Standard

Growing up my Mom always made gingerbread cookies.  We would sit and decorate them and then enjoy eating them too!   I have carried on the tradition with my girls but I have been making these cookies long before I had children.

Cookie cutters in action

I made them for the UT Longhorn Marching Band’s caroling  party; I’ve made them for an entire floor of residents in one of the UPenn towers; and they have traveled with me to numerous parties….these cookies get around!

I love this recipe and I have decided to share it with you.  I think it came from one of my Mom’s Southern Living cookbooks.  I put the doubled recipe amounts in ( ) after the ingredient so you don’t have to think as much 🙂

Gingerbread Boys

Cream together in a big bowl:

  • 1 cup shortening (2c)
  • 1 c sugar (2c)

Stir in:

  • 1 egg (2)
  • 1 c molasses (2)
  • 2 T vinegar (4)

Beat well.

In a separate bowl, shift together:

  • 5 cups flour (10)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of soda (3)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt (1)
  • 2-3 teaspoons of ginger (4-6)
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon  (2)
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cloves (2)

Stir the dry ingredients into the molasses mixture and chill at least 3 hours.  (I wrap my dough in saran wrap and then place the wrapped dough in ziploc bags and place in the refrigerator.  I have made the dough as far as 3 days in advance)

Making the cookies:

On a lightly floured surface roll the dough to about 1/8 inch thickness and cut them out.

Place onto a greased cookie sheet and bake 5-6 minutes at 375.

Allow the cookies to cool for one minute before taking off the cookie sheet.

Decorate as desired after they completely cool.

Store covered.

Things I have discovered over the years:

  • 1 batch yields about 50 small gingerbread boys/girls.
  • There is 1 1/2 cups of molasses in a Grandma’s Molasses jar.
  • Keep your dough cool—I don’t take it all out at once.  Cooler dough cuts better.

Piles and Piles of goodness!

 

3 responses »

  1. Okay…I have a great idea. You need to copy all of these recipes…put them in a really cute cookbook (you know how I love cute!) and give them to me for Christmas!! That’s because I’ll probably never figure out how to copy them for myself!

    Now, don’t think for a minute that this will be my only gift. I would suggest arranging it in a lovely basket filled with some nice, diamond jewelry…perhaps a fur vest….and topped off with a nice gc for my Kindle so I can read, sitting by the fire, wearing my fur vest and jewelry. Now..the only problem is….how can I make these great recipes wearing my fur and diamonds??? I have no clue, but, I’ll manage!

    Seriously, these are wonderful…they are the best ever, but they are a lot harder than that mix I just saw at Wal-Mart. That’s what I would be serving! Love to you, our family chef, and all the Fam…Myra

      • I just now read your reply to me!! yes, you were the perfect child of mine for the cookbook, that’s for sure. B&E never saw one, but I think that turned out okay! They did get a Trivium one, too, and Bryan liked it because he kept looking at Mom’s before they got theirs!! By the way, I just printed out the ham casserole and chicken corn chowder. Who knew that you can just go into your post where you list the recipe and copy from there? Gee..at this rate, in 10 more years, I may be as good a cook as you are now!! I’m headed for gingerbread men now! Look out guys…I’m on your tail!

Leave a Reply

