Porcupine Meatballs

Standard

This one is a fast one to whip together.  How do I know that?  Let me share….

Today I was up at the church sorting through some different curriculum things and craft items just minding my own business.  I glanced at my watch and saw that it was just 1:40 and thought, “Wow, I’m making good time.  I’ll go over to the other building and work on some things there.”  Later I happened to glance at a clock in one of the classrooms and it said 2:20.  NO, it can’t be….who set that clock ahead?  I looked at my watch and it still said 1:40 and I noticed the second hand was no longer moving….ugh.  Now I needed to get home, make dinner and be in the car line at school by 3:10.

Well, I made it.  Dinner was in the fridge and the prep work was all cleaned up by the time I left for the school.  So this recipe can be assembled quickly but it does take one hour to bake (45 covered and 15 uncovered).  I think we will have to start doubling the recipe though as everyone loves them and we have none leftover.  It feeds us all (four) nicely but as soon as one of my girls hits a growth spurt it won’t!

Porcupine Meatballs

Mix together:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 cup uncooked, regular rice
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion (I like to chop them small)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon celery salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Shape mixture by rounded tablespoonfuls into balls.

Place meatballs into an ungreased baking dish.

Sprinkle over the meatballs:  (This isn’t in my original recipe..it is just my addition that I like!)

  • Worcestershire sauce

Stir together:

  • 2 cans of tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

Pour the sauce over the meatballs.

Cover with aluminum foil

Place in oven, preheated to 350 degrees.

Bake 45 minutes covered.

Uncover and bake 15 minutes longer.

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Preparing for the New Year | Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

