Baked Pumpkin Donut Holes

Standard

I had these at a Bible study a few weeks ago because as you know you can’t have a Bible study without food…right???

They were delicious.  So on Saturday when it was snowing in OCTOBER (crazy)….and I was home due to a change in plans (bummer)…AND I needed to have something for Sunday breakfast that could easily transport to the church where my girls would eat during the worship team rehearsal….it was a perfect storm for trying out a new recipe.

I called my baker-extraordinaire friend and asked where she found the recipe.  She sent me on a blog chase and I found it with the wonderful power of “google”.  So now, I’m going to link you to the blog itself.

The recipe was very easy but here are things you should know:

  1. It makes more than 24 mini-muffins.  I was able to get 36 out of it.
  2. They are best eaten the day of.  Saturday night they were delightful!  Sunday morning, they were a bit messy.  The butter and sugar made them kind of sticky.  They were still good to eat but not as great.

Update on 11/30/11—I made these when my in-laws were here for Thanksgiving.  This time I didn’t need all 36 so I saved 12 for later without the butter and cinnamon/sugar.  The next morning I zapped a few of the donut holes and then rolled them in butter and the cinnamon/sugar and they were just fine.  They are better right out of the oven, but then what isn’t????  So you can totally make these the night before, then before serving- zap them in the morning and then roll them.

They shared a plate with the peanut blossom cookies and peanut butter cookies I made earlier in the day.  The rest of the donut holes were already put away for breakfast the next morning.

Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Hi Becki! I love keeping up with you all on your blog and facebook. I was wondering how you thought the pumpkin donut holes might hold up if I made them the night before, but saved the melted butter and cinnamon sugar rolling for the next day?

    • Thanks Christa! It is great to have technology keep us connected over the many miles 🙂
      As for your question, that is what I’m going to try the next time I make them. I think if you zapped them in the microwave to warm them back up they would do a better job of absorbing the butter.

  2. Pingback: Sausage Cornbread Muffins « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

