I can do all things…

Standard

Tonight I was ready to scream.  I had been patient, loving, giving, the nurse, the pal, the cook, the homework helper and still…I wasn’t feeling the love back from my girls.  I love my girls but you know there are those days when you want to say, “Let’s make a list and put all the things that I have done for you on one side and then on the other we will put all the things you have done for me.”

Well, actually I did say this tonight to one of my two precious girls.  It got her attention.  I never lost my temper but just kept patiently trying to show the love.

Finally it was nearing 8:00 and things were heating up for the bedtime round.  As I walked the stairs for the umpteenth time to help the other child on the other floor, I was reminded of one of my favorite Bible verses

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

Philippians 4:13

I added on to the verse though rather than letting my temper boil up.  My version went like this: “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength, even show love to my daughter that is driving me NUTS right now.”

So the next time you feel you are reaching your boiling point….remember Philippians 4:13 and finish it out with what you need Christ to help you do.  I love that He will help us accomplish those things that bring Him glory.

One response »

Leave a Reply

