Cheese Enchiladas (vegetarian meal)

Standard

I have been trying several new recipes lately; I’ve just been too busy to sit and post them here!  Finally today I found a few minutes to share the wonderful cheese enchiladas I made last week.  The recipe is from “The $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook” that I found at the library.  She makes many things from scratch so I’ve substituted good old “off the shelf” items for a few of her recipe line items!

Cheese Enchiladas from beckinpa.wordpress.com

Cheese Enchiladas

First prepare the enchilada sauce  (If you like a lot of sauce, double the recipe except for the salt amount):

In a skillet heat for about 1 to 2 minutes:

  • 2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch

Whisk into the skillet:

  • 2 cups of Vegetable Stock (she says to make your own…I say boil two cups of water and put in 3 bouillon cubes!)

Now whisk in:

  • 1 can (8-oz) tomato sauce
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • cayenne pepper to taste (I put in a pinch or two as my girls haven’t developed a taste for spice just yet)

Let that simmer for about five minutes

Preheat the oven to 350.

Spread about 1/2 cup of the enchilada sauce in the bottom of a 13 x9 pan.

Now open the package of:

  • 10-12 corn tortillas

Place one tortilla down in the sauce remaining in the skillet and let it get warm and soak up a bit of sauce

Pull the tortilla out and put it on a small plate.

Sprinkle into the each tortilla after it has been “sauced”

  • a handful of shredded Cheddar cheese (using about 3-5 cups total for the entire dish)
  • a bit of queso fresco (optional…can use just cheddar cheese if you wish!  I buy a round portion and crumble it up to place in and then on the enchiladas)
  • chopped onions to taste. (I put onions in all but 4 of our enchiladas and then sprinkled onions on top of those that had onions inside so we would know when serving)

Roll up each tortilla and lay seam side down in the dish.

Once you have all the enchiladas rolled up,

  • spread the remaining sauce over the top of the enchiladas
  • sprinkle with leftover cheese
  • top with onions if desired.

Place in the preheated oven and bake for 15-25 minutes until the cheese is melted and “happy”!

I served this with homemade Mexican rice (I will add the recipe later), salsa and black beans.  I think it would have been perfect to have some refried beans on the plate—I would have felt like I was at a cheap Mexican food place back home in Texas!

Enjoy 🙂

2 responses »

  1. um…I think I forgot that these go in the oven for about 20-25 minutes for the cheese to get melted and “happy”. I will have to go back and add it!

  2. Pingback: When a Tex-Mex Restaurant is Nowhere Nearby :( | Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

