Messy Mexican Casserole

Standard

Here is one that is easy to throw together and in my house the ingredients are always on hand (or easy to substitute).

Messy Mexican Casserole

Brown in skillet:

  • 1 lb ground beef (more if you have larger appetites to feed)

Drain fat and return beef to skillet.

Add to the beef:

  • 1 can of Ro-Tel (or if you are out of Ro-Tel like I was….one can of diced tomatoes and one can of chopped chiles.  I know you are SHOCKED that I was out of Ro-Tel…so was I.  My handsome fella used the last can and didn’t tell me!)
  • Taco Seasoning packet
  • 1 can of corn, drained

Mix and heat thoroughly.

Prepare:

  • one box of cornbread mix of your choice according to package directions  (mine requires an egg and 1/3 c of milk)

Place meat mixture in a baking dish.

Pour cornbread mix over the meat mixture.

Bake at 350 until the cornbread is golden. ( that was about 20-25 minutes for me)

Take out of the oven, break up the cornbread and stir it together with the ground beef mixture.

Sprinkle over the casserole:

  • shredded cheese of your choice (I used taco blend)

Place the casserole back into the oven to melt the cheese.

I served it with my typical sides of fresh fruit and carrot sticks for a meal that made everyone happy.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

