Easy Stroganoff

Standard

This is a favorite at our house.  We eat it at least once a month if not twice.  It is nice to have a recipe that makes everyone smile when they hear what you are making for dinner.  I remember “Mama Post”  had a great recipe for stroganoff. (Mama Post is the mother of my best friend from High School).  I’m sure my recipe doesn’t hold up to her’s but we love it at our house nonetheless.  I can’t believe that I have never posted this recipe but when I recently wrote on old favorites, I couldn’t find it in any search or tag.  It is a quick one to throw together.

Easy Stroganoff

In a large skillet cook:

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 medium chopped onion

Drain the beef and return to the skillet.

(Prepare your water to boil the egg noodles)

Stir into the skillet mixture:

  • 2 Tablespoons of flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 4 oz can sliced mushrooms with the liquid (don’t drain)

Cook, stirring for 1 minute

Stir in

  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • salt to taste

Simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

At this time cook your noodles in the water you have been bringing to a boil.

After the meat mixture has simmered 10 minutes, add:

  • 8 oz sour cream

Heat through.

Mix noodles in or serve over the noodles.

I have used turkey rather than beef for this recipe several times and as long as I remember to season the turkey with salt and pepper while browning everyone is happy with it.

 

Don’t forget as you sit around the table to enjoy the time…don’t sit in silence or fuss about the day….enjoy each other!

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: I made my own Cream of Mushroom Soup! | Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

