Pudding-wiches…an awesome summer treat!

Standard

Ok, I’m about to share with you a piece of my childhood history.   This recipe is summer memories for me…hot days at the beach with cousins….playing in the yard with my brothers…summer with the family.

My Mom made these every summer.  She had a long, rectangle Tupperware container that she used each time to store them.  I am now the proud owner of the container and use it for that sole purpose each summer.  I started craving some pudding-wiches last week when it was so hot.  We came in from the pool club on a hot, Memorial Day and it was the only thing I could think about!  I determined to get the ingredients at the store during the week.  So of course, it cools off this weekend!  No problem though.  H and I made pudding-wiches on Friday before she headed off to field day and we have been able to enjoy them even with the cool temps.

Pudding-wiches

In a deep narrow bowl add:

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 cups cold milk

Blend until smooth

Add:

  • 1 -4 oz box of chocolate instant pudding (I think the small boxes are now 3.9 oz. !)

Beat slowly with hand beater or low with a mixer until well blended (about 2 minutes)

Let the mixture stand for 5 minutes

Create the pudding-wich with:

  • one square graham cracker
  • 1/2 inch thick of pudding mixture spread around
  • place one square graham cracker on top

Freeze until firm.

It makes about 12 to 18 pudding-wiches.  You might want to go ahead and double the recipe as they will go fast!

H said as we were licking the beaters—“Now this is a piece of heaven!”  I have to agree with her.

Enjoy!

Here is H making our favorite treat in August of 2012.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

