Weeknight Chicken and Pasta

Standard

I started dinner tonight at 4:20 and we had eaten and my kitchen was cleaned by 5:45!!!  (and I was also helping both girls with their homework so add that into the mix and the timing is even better!)

I love fast meals like that.  So of course, I have to share it with you so you can have a fast and yummy dinner one night too.

What made my prep so quick is that earlier in the week I boiled extra chicken breasts.  Once they were cooked, I shredded them and measured out 2 cups and packed them in a freezer ziploc bag.  At lunch today I took the frozen chicken out to start thawing and then zapped it a bit in the microwave to knock the chill off just before adding it to the dish.

Weeknight Chicken and Pasta

Cook in boiling water:

  • 2-3 cups of uncooked bow tie pasta

While the pasta cooks, saute in a large skillet:

  • 1 Tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 small sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped

Add to skillet:

  • 1 garlic clove, minced

Let that cook together for about 30 seconds. Then throw into the skillet:

  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups cooked and shredded chicken

Let that cook for about a minute.  Then add:

  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I always use the light version)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme

Heat through

Add before serving: (all to taste preference)

  • Shredded Parmesan
  • Minced chives

This is a four smiley face meal at our house  (and it makes me smile VERY wide as it is so easy).  I found it in the Healthy Cooking magazine from Taste of Home from June/July 2010.

I simply served it with fresh strawberries on the side…to which my youngest said “We are only have two things for supper?”…..She does NOT get the combined entree concept at all.  Oh she would not have survived in my casserole- childhood.

One response »

  1. OK, I just have to leave a comment on my own posting. I’m sitting here working and eating leftovers of this dish. It is still so yummy. I added a little more Parmesan cheese and heated it in the microwave. I might have to go heat up the rest and just finish it off. I guess I can look at that as helping organize my refrigerator a bit! 😉

Leave a Reply

