Lime Salmon with Green Beans and Squash

Standard

Yippee!  I found another fish recipe that I like.  This one came from a Summer 2010 Heart-Healthy Living Magazine I picked up after my heart episode last year.  We tried a few recipes from it, but this wasn’t one that I saw until last night when I was meal planning.  It meets my prep requirements of fast and easy.  I LOVE that once you get it on the grill, you have your entree and sides going.  I sliced up some strawberries and got the patio table ready for a wonderful meal with my favorite people.

Now the recipe calls for four, 4-ounce skinless salmon fillets.  We purchased some wild-caught salmon in the freezer section of Target and I think it was 24 oz.  There were six fillets and we didn’t take the skin off.  Brad and I had two fillets each and the girls each had one.  I simply defrosted them in a bowl of water while preparing the vegetables and seasoning mixture.  Next time we make it I will double the seasoning mixture and Brad said he would like a bit of butter too—but then that doesn’t make it as heart healthy, does it now! 🙂

Lime Salmon with Green Beans and Squash

Tear off four 24 x 18 inch pieces of heavy-duty foil.

Fold each in half to make an 18 x 12 rectangle.

Divide between the foil rectangles:

  • 12 ounces fresh green beans, trimmed
  • 1 medium yellow summer squash, sliced

Prepare in a small prep bowl:

  • 2 T snipped fresh parsley (4T if doubling)
  • 1 teaspoon grated lime peel (I would do the entire lime if doubling)
  • 2 cloves minced garlic (4 when doubling)
  • 1/4 teaspoon seasoned salt (1/2 t when doubling)

Place the fish on top of the vegetable mixture.

Drizzle each fish using:

  • 1-2 T olive oil

Sprinkle the fish and veggies with your seasoning mixture.

Fold up each packet by bringing up the two opposite edges of the foil and seal with a double fold, folding the remaining ends to completely enclose the food.  You are going to basically steam the packets!

Grill foil packets over medium heat for about 20 minutes or until fish begins to flake when tested with a fork and the vegetables are tender.

You can also bake packets in a 350 degree oven if you don’t want to fire up the grill.

This was a 4 smiley face meal with everyone eating fish and green beans.  I hope your family enjoys it too!

Leave a Reply

