Shrimp New Orleans

Standard

Tonight I made one of mine and Brad’s absolute favorite dishes, Shrimp New Orleans.  I can’t make this recipe without thinking of one of the first times I had it.  It is a recipe that my mother-in-law found.  We were at her house and she was preparing the dish.  She would walk through the kitchen and season it some and then her firstborn (my handsome fella) would walk through and season the dish some—each without the other knowing.  And what seasoning were they using?  Cayenne pepper!  Let’s just say it was a dish we never forgot 🙂

If you don’t keep adding cayenne, this is a great dish enjoyed by many.  If you aren’t a fan of mushrooms then just leave out the jar of mushrooms (but you will be missing out!).

My MIL has also prepared this ahead of time and frozen it to serve later.

Shrimp New Orleans

Prepare ahead:  (Today I made my rice at lunch time and just let it sit on the stove until time to prepare the casserole dish in the afternoon)

  • 2 cups cooked rice (cook one cup to get 2 cups).

Boil and Peel

  • 2 lbs shrimp

Drain Shrimp.

Saute in 1 stick of butter:

  • 1 c. chopped green onions
  • 1/2 c chopped celery
  • 1 small chopped bell pepper

Add to the saute mixture:

  • the cooked rice
  • the cooked/peeled shrimp
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can of cream of celery soup
  • 1 large jar of chopped pimentos
  • 1 large can of sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

Mix well

Place into a casserole dish and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

I served this with salad and some rosemary/cheddar drop biscuits.  Child #2 filled up on salad and Child #1 picked out the shrimp and ate that.  So I guess everyone was happy!

Enjoy this special dish 🙂

2 responses »

  1. Well…silly girl…I just now read about myself!! Actually, I didn’t remember me and Brad doing that, but I do remember that it was pretty hot a few times! I came in here to print this one and realized that it was my recipe!! I’m on a roll..I’ve printed out about 7-8 recipes. I’m going to put them in a “Becki” folder. I must stop soon..got to pack for Lakeview. MIL

  2. Pingback: Shrimp and Rice Casserole « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

