Lasagna In a Crockpot!

Standard

It is that time of year when schedules get busy with baseball games, recitals and such.  Remember it is important that you sit down as a family and eat together.  It doesn’t matter if it is a homemade meal or  a Voila! frozen dinner, what matters is that you take time to connect as a family around the dinner table as often as you can.  Slow Cooker recipes can be nice when things are rushed.  My cousin sent me this recipe a while back.  I finally got around to making it today and I said to Brad as I made it….well, it will either be good or it will be another failure as most of my recent “new recipes” have been.  I have been on a string of loser recipes lately!  This one was a winner.  It was easy and I love that I put it in the crockpot and it was ready for us after a long day of work.

Now there are a few things I would do differently.  I would add a can of tomato sauce to the spaghetti sauce and I would also pour another 8 oz can of tomato sauce over the top of the lasagna.  So that is how I will write the recipe below!

Crockpot Lasagna

Brown on stovetop:

  • 1 lb of ground beef
  • Add seasonings to taste- I added pepper, oregano, dried basil, and a few dashes of cinnamon.
  • Add a small jar of mushrooms (optional)

Combine in a bowl:

  • 1  28-ounce jar of your favorite spaghetti sauce
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 8-ounce jar of tomato sauce

Lightly grease the bottom of the crockpot/slow cooker.

Make one layer with the following:

  • Uncooked lasagna noodles (I put one long one down the middle and then broke 2 or 3 more to place in this layer)
  • Beef mixture
  • Spaghetti sauce mixture
  • Half of a 15 oz container of ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese

Put one more layer using up the rest of the beef, sauce and ricotta cheese.

Then I ended with one last layer of noodles and more cheese.

Cover the last layer of noodles with (make sure the noodles are covered with sauce, otherwise they will be hard when you are ready to eat.  You can leave off this layer  of noodles if you want.)

  • 1 8-ounce can of tomato sauce.

Cook on high for 1 hour and the low for 4 hours. (My cousin said she cooked her’s on low for 6 hours and all was fine)

Heather said to put four smiley faces on the recipe so I know she approved.  It really is just your lasagna recipe cooked in the slow cooker.  But I would have never thought to do it that way.  I love having another recipe to throw together early in the day and sit down later to a meal that everyone will enjoy.

One response »

  1. I made this recipe when my parents were here last weekend. I loved that it was actually the same as my own lasagna recipe. I also learned that I like cinnamon in my ground beef. Who knew? I loved it and we were able to spend our afternoon at the arboretum and watching the horse race verses slaving in the kitchen…Love the crockpot ! Some complained that the noodles were soggy but not to me…and I’m in charge! ;D

Leave a Reply

