No more yammering

Standard

Tonight I stepped out of my comfort zone.  I went to a meeting at the school to discuss the movie “Race to Nowhere” that focused on the impact homework is having on our kids.  For those that know me well you have picked up on the fact that I don’t like to speak up in groups in which I’m not already comfortable.  I say it takes me about two years to warm up.  With Brad working at night, it makes for an easy excuse to NOT attend these kinds of meetings.  Why pay a babysitter, right?  Well, I’ve yammered on and on about homework this year and I decided that I really needed to show up at the meeting.  So I did, with my two girls.  They sat to the side of the library and were really very good.  Except for needing to go find some books on the other side, they would have never been seen by anyone there.  Child #2 was doing her humming bit near the end so they were heard, but one lady kept looking out the window thinking the sound was coming from there!

After the meeting I told the girls we would go to Wendy’s and get a frosty as they were so good.  As we drove to the next town to get their treats, I tried to tell them why I went to the meeting.  I said that it is so easy to complain and fuss about things but it takes a different kind of person to step up and say “Hey, there is something not working well here, let’s see what we can do to fix it”.  We talked about how the school has needs, kids have needs and parents have needs and somehow there are things that can change to make homework a better fit for all parties involved.  I’m sure some of it went in one ear and out the other, but I’m also sure the topic of stepping up to make things better is one that I will keep yammering about for years to come 😉 !

Leave a Reply

