Easy and Yummy Dessert- Sopapilla Cheesecake

Standard

Ok, so my friends that are all dieting can just exit out of this post.  This one is NOT for you.  BUT, if you want something quick and yummy then this recipe is for you.

I haven’t been cooking much at all lately as I confessed in the last post.  Life has been so crazy and my meal planning had dropped to being non-existent.  I did sit down on Saturday afternoon and plan out this next week’s dinners.  I’m not sure if there is anything new and exciting on the menu to post about but we will see.

Now, back to this easy and yummy dessert….  My sister-in-law, Julie, sent me a recipe book that her Sunday School class compiled to raise money for missions (at least I think that was the cause).  I needed a quick dessert for Sunday night, so I consulted Julie’s cookbook and this was the one I picked.  I had thought about saving it until Cinco de Mayo as (for my northern friends that don’t know) a sopapilla is Mexican dessert.  So yummy- light, fluffy, fried pastry served with cinnamon and sugar and sometimes honey.  I put this together earlier in the afternoon and left it in the refrigerator.  Then as we sat down to eat, I put it in the oven.  I think it probably should have cooked for 5 or 10 more minutes as it had been chilled for several hours.  But I served from around the edges and no one left any on their plates so I’m thinking it was edible 😉

Sopapilla Cheesecake

Spray a 13 x 9 pan with PAM.

Cover the bottom of the pan with:

  • One can of crescent rolls, covering the bottom of the pan and closing all the perforations.

Blend together with a mixer until fluffy:

  • 2 softened, cream cheese blocks (8 oz each)—I used one regular and one low fat so that way I could say it was a reduced-calorie dessert…heheehee!
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Spread the cream cheese mixture on top of the dough, but do not go all the way to the edge.

Over the mixture place:

  • 1 can of crescent rolls sealing all edges with the bottom crescent.

Melt in a saucepan:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar

Once the sugar is dissolved, remove the pan from the heat and add:

  • 1 tsp vanilla

Pour the mixture over the top of the crust.

Sprinkle, with a very heavy hand, cinnamon–all over the top.

Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes (but if you have had it in the refrigerator probably 35-40 minutes)

Serve with some coffee because it is so sweet—Enjoy!

 

4 responses »

  1. So I made this the other night-easy and delicious! The only problem is, I’ve had a piece or two every day since then!

Leave a Reply

