Slow Cooker Meal- Coq au vin

Standard

Growing up we usually came home from church on Sunday to a wonderful hot meal.  I love that but it can be challenging to get everything put together.  Usually we end up having Roast, as it is so easy to prepare ahead of time.  Well, I found this recipe last month and thought I would give it a try.  It does go slightly against my desire for all slow cooker recipes—-you have to brown the chicken before putting it in the crock.  (I like “magic pot” recipes where you just dump it all in and then poof….dinner is ready in a few hours).

This one was easy though and I was able to get it ready AND my family ready before leaving for church.  It takes 5 to 6 hours on low or 2.5 to 3 hours on high.  We did the “on high” version. I found the recipe on http://www.bhg.com/recipes.

Slow Cooker Coq Au Vin

Lightly coat an unheated large skillet with a bit of olive oil.

Preheat the skillet over medium heat.

Cook until brown:

  • 3 lbs of chicken thighs, skinned

Place the chicken thighs in your slow cooker and sprinkle with:

  • 1 envelope of beefy onion soup mix

Add to the slow cooker:

  • 2 cups of sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 1 onion- chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, cut into 1/2 inch sticks

Pour over everything:

  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup dry red wine

Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 5 to 6 hours or on high-heat setting for 2.5 to 3 hours.

Serve with mashed potatoes (instant in our case!) and a green salad.

Everyone in my family enjoyed this dish.  My girls love chicken thighs and my handsome fella loves fresh mushrooms- so there was something for everyone!

This one will definitely make it into our Sunday rotation.  I would suggest if you have a family larger than four, or big eaters, that you double the recipe or add more side dishes!

 

Oh- one funny side story.  Sunday morning the girls came up for breakfast and I said, “what do you want for breakfast, we have the usual.”  Em replied “why does it smell so much better than that then?”.  I replied with a  face that read “oh, so sorry” saying “Oh, that is lunch…sorry.”.  She settled for cereal but I determined then to make a hot breakfast on the next morning- a holiday for us.

 

One response »

  1. I’m making a very loose version of this for dinner. Had to use leg quarters and chicken broth because I didn’t want to go to the store. Also didn’t have ‘beefy” soup mix so I went with just onion. I’m looking forward to seeing what chicken is like with onion soup mix…I think I have only used it on beef/roast so far. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

