No-Fail Chicken and Rice plus Cheese-Crusted Squash

Standard

It is a busy time of year.  So we need some recipes that are easy to prep and don’t require us to watch over them minute by minute.

Well- here ya go!  I found this recipe scratched on an old grocery list.  I’m thinking I must have been talking to my mother and she rattled off a recipe she just “threw together”  (oh, how I wish I could just throw stuff together with the confidence they would taste good).  I believe this was the first time I’ve tried it.  I had an early cooking disaster many years ago with a different Chicken and Rice recipe and never attempted it again….until tonight!

This was easy and everyone at our table liked it.  (I could just eat the rice; it was so yummy!)

Chicken and Rice

  • Spray your pan with PAM
  • Place your boneless, skinless chicken in the pan.  (I used 2 breast and 2 thighs, you could easily have 6-8 pieces of chicken for this dish…I just don’t like leftover chicken)
  • Salt and Pepper the chicken
  • Add 1 1/2 cups of uncooked rice
  • Sprinkle 1 package of onion soup mix over the top
  • Pour 3 cups of water over everything.
  • Cover with foil

Bake at 400 for 30 minutes.

 

Acorn Squash. Yes,  it is something you can eat!  😉  In the Food Network Magazine this month they had a recipe for Cheese-Crusted Squash that I thought I would give a whirl.  Brad and I liked it and both girls ate their “no-thank you” portion and lived. (No thank you= one bite, chew and swallow the entire bite and then you don’t have to eat any more)

I didn’t have all the ingredients for the recipe so I will share  how I made it.  First though—how DO you cut an acorn squash?  Well, I googled it.  I found a short video that said to use a serrated knife and saw back and forth.  Make sure you place your fingers where you don’t saw them too, ok?! Saw lengthwise to the middle, then flip and saw on the other side to the middle.

Then slice thin wedges of the squash to prepare for the dish.

Cheese-Crusted Squash

Mix:

  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • 2 pinches of dried rubbed sage
  • 1/2-3/4 cup of Italian mix cheese (I used parmesan and mozzarella)
  • 3 Tablespoons breadcrumbs
  • 3 Tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt
  • Dash of red pepper flakes

Put a piece of foil on a rimmed baking sheet and then place your thin wedges of acorn squash in a single layer.  Pat the cheese mixture onto the wedges.

Bake at 400 for 25-30 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

