Ah, the Christmas Tree Lights

Standard

Yes, my husband makes fun of me….my best friend shakes her head, but every year I do it.  I take hours to put the lights on the tree.  I blame my Dad for this behavior.  He too took many hours to get the lights just right.  I will say- that I get it done faster than he does though.

I have come to really enjoy this time.  One of my favorite years of putting the lights on was when Brad was at a concert and the girls were in bed.  I turned on my favorite Christmas CDs and enjoyed the moment.

I sang.

I prayed.

I contemplated life.

And, from these times I have made some applications of Christmas lights to life.  (yes, my husband laughs at me for this too—but oh well…he is stuck with me)

I love that the lights on the tree remind me that Jesus is the light of the world.

I love the way when I wrap the lights around the inner portion of a branch it just illuminates that area—much like when the Light of the World enters- that area is brighter and changed.  The light reveals so much.

As I hung lights outside (something my Dad NEVER did and I’m beginning to understand why!),  I thought about how much light really does reveal.  As you drive through neighborhoods this season you notice houses and details that you usually miss as you drive in the evening, but at Christmas time the lights shine and illuminate the porches, the house outlines, the sidewalks, wherever there is light- you notice.

Jesus is the Light of the World.  His entrance brought light to the world in a way that the world had never experienced.  John 8:12 says

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

I don’t want to walk in darkness.  I need to be plugged into the power source…just like the lights on my tree don’t shine unless they are plugged in.  I need to make sure I am spending time with God each day, “plugging in” to His Word….listening to Him speak.  It can get very busy during Christmas with parties, preparations, and school functions.  Take time each day to plug in—spend some time with the one that created Christmas.  Each day you plug in your lights on your tree, take some time to read a passage of scripture and pray- ask guide to guide your path and help you to shine for Him.  Then when you unplug the lights, pray again- thanking God for his provision for you and for guiding your path.

I do love this time of year- but not for the hustle and bustle- but for the celebration of the greatest gift ever, the Light of the World- our Savior, Jesus Christ.

PS- My best friend can’t shake her head at me about lights anymore…..she ‘fessed up that she had to buy extra strands of lights this year as their home as adopted the “Giese-light” tradition.

2010 Smith Family Christmas Tree

2 responses »

  1. Love your tree and would love to learn how to do it right. I tried one year and it was a mess. How about you post a demo to youtube? 😀

Leave a Reply

