Thanksgiving Fun

Standard

I am in the craziness of planning Thanksgiving Dinner.  This is one of my favorite holidays.  As a child it became the “family reunion” time for my Dad’s side.  We would all gather at Grandmother’s house (with the same Aunt and Uncle arriving late each year) and just eat, relax, enjoy each other and then at the end of the day- split into the Aggie side and the Longhorn side and go off to watch the game!

I love being with extended family on holidays.  Three years ago it was just my immediate family around the table and while it was a special day for the four of us, I was a bit depressed to make all that special food and just be sharing it with the same people I share every meal with.  Last year, it got better.  My Brother-in-Law and his lovely wife drove down from New York to spend the day with us.  They will be coming again this year and we are all looking forward to it.

You know I like to keep the conversation rolling at dinner so here are some ideas for you:

  1. Put three kernels of corn, or acorns at each person’s plate.  With each kernel/acorn you share one thing for which you are thankful.
  2. Put under the napkins some Thanksgiving jokes to share.  I put them under the plates once and it wasn’t so smart as then we had full plates of food to lift to get to the jokes!
    1. Thanksgiving Jokes for kids
    2. Some jokes I found on a blog
  3. Play a Thanksgiving Trivia game

This year my girls and I will attempt to make some cute little pilgrim hats for our place cards .  I bought the items tonight and hope to use the free time we have next week to work together rather than veg in front of the tv or computer.  (Yippee—I took Tuesday- Friday off!).  Last year Emily did some thumbprint Turkeys for our place cards that were really cute and kept her busy 🙂

Another neat item I found that I hope to do this year with my family is also from Julie’s Journal Blog.  It is a cute little way to tell your neighbors you are thankful for them–take a look!

Oh, and as for dinner on the table between now and then—I’m pulling out quick and easy!  Make your own pizzas, Santa Fe Rice Pilaf, and Roast Beef Sandwiches are just a few things that I have thought of that will be winners for this next week as we prepare our family feast.  Might have to do some frito pie and chicken nuggets too!

Enjoy your time- we have a lot to be thankful for.

I always love to hear from you so please leave a comment if you have other ideas to make Thanksgiving Day a fun time for everyone.

One response »

  1. Thanks for the ideas! We made the place cards and everyone participated and enjoyed it…it was a fun and easy craft….we only had to make 19!

    We also did the trivia which was a hit and we actually learned something. It really encouraged some good discussion as well as some good jokes.

Leave a Reply

