Pumpkin Muffins

Standard

My cousin Jennifer made these for me back in August 2004 and was kind enough to write down the recipe for me.  There are lots of ingredients (well, in relation to most recipes I post) but they are very good.  Even my “banana bread” friend (whom I mentioned in some of my first posts)…even she likes these and she is not a pumpkin-lover. (I guess it is her undying loyalty to the banana???? heheehe).

Anyhow the original recipe calls for one cup of pumpkin.  That stinks because then what will you do with the other portion of the pumpkin?  So I always double the recipe and we end up with 24 muffins.

I will put in the measurements for a single and a double just in case you don’t like to mess with math at this point in your life either.

Pumpkin Muffins

Mix the following ingredients well:

  • 1 1/4 cup oatmeal (2 1/2 cups)
  • 1 t baking powder (2 t)
  • 1/2 t salt (1 t)
  • 1 t nutmeg (2t)
  • 1 t cinnamon (2 t)
  • 3/4 c brown sugar (1 1/2 c)
  • 1 c flour (2c) OK, the original recipe calls for whole wheat….but my family isn’t a fan.
  • 1/2 t soda (1 t)
  • 1/4 c milk (1/2 c)
  • 1 c pumpkin (plain)  (2c- I don’t measure…I  put in the entire can which is just shy of 2 cups)
  • 1 egg (2)
  • 2/3 c oil (1 1/3 c)

Pour into muffin cups.  (Grease the muffin tins if you aren’t using muffin liners)

Bake at 400 for 15-17 minutes.

I have made 12 full size and then the rest as mini-muffins in the past.  When I bake the mini-muffins they take about 8 minutes.

 

I made these this morning before we headed to church.  Some would read that and say “ah, what a mother” but really 90% of the time making muffins at my house equates to “we are out of cereal and I haven’t had a chance to go to the store”.

Last night I pulled all the pantry ingredients out and the measuring items I would need for the recipe so I didn’t have to think so early in the morning.  Then we browned some of the little smokies, with cheese inside, and my girls thought they had a royal Halloween breakfast!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

