Another good one for the Slow Cooker

Standard

A few years ago someone told me about the cookbook, “Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook“.  Well, I like to check cookbooks out of the library and found this one a few weeks ago.  It is due back tomorrow….maybe I will re-check it online- I LOVE that feature of the library.

Anyhow, I tried this recipe tonight with some shredded chicken I already had in the freezer.  I told my girls it was like a chicken taco casserole and just to try it (never mentioning the words ‘sour cream’).  Well, Em went on a hunt for chicken in hers to pick out.  After one bite she said, “nope that was cauliflower”, which perked my ears.  I asked her to repeat and then I said, “nope, that isn’t cauliflower”.  Heather too was eating the “white stuff”  Finally after everyone ate dinner, I verified that they indeed had liked the taste of the “white stuff”, which they had.  At that point I told them it was sour cream.  They were amazed!  They each said, but it isn’t sour?!!!  I was so glad they finally tried it.

Chicken Sour Cream Enchilada Casserole

For this recipe we will be layering with

  • 12 corn tortillas, each cut into strips of 4
  • about 24 oz- 30 oz of Green Chile Enchilada Sauce (I had 3, 10 oz cans)
  • 2-3 cups cooked, shredded chicken (I warmed mine a bit and put some fajita seasoning on it)
  • 4 cups of Colby Jack cheese or a Mexican blend of cheese

In a large skillet heat, over medium-high heat add:

  • 1 Tablespoon of vegetable oil

Add to the heated oil and cook until softened (Maybe 5 minutes):

  • 1 large onion chopped (I didn’t have a large one so I had a mix of purple and yellow onion to equal one large yellow onion)

In your slow cooker pour and tilt to cover the bottom

  • 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce

In layers add:

  • 1/4 of the tortilla strips
  • 1/4 of the remaining sauce
  • 1/3 of the onions
  • 1/3 of the chicken
  • 1/4 of the cheese

Repeat the layers two more times.

Then put the last tortilla strips, sauce, and cheese.

Finally, spoon over the surface of the casserole without disturbing the layers:

  • 1- 16 oz container of sour cream ( I used the light version)

Cook on HIGH for 2 hours or on LOW for 4-5 hours.

I opened a can of Ranch Style Beans (imported from Texas…thank you Mom and Dad), sliced the apples that Heather brought home from her field trip to Linvilla, and that my friends was dinner!

This would be one that you could put together in the crock the night before and if you get home at 4 or so- take it out of the refrigerator and plug it in! Then dinner is ready around 6!  If you can start it at lunch time even better- I got mine going on low by 1:20 and we were eating at 5:30.

Enjoy

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

