Apple Spice Cookies and a wonderful day

Standard

How could a day not be wonderful when you have something like Apple Spice Cookies?  I found the recipe on the better homes and garden site that I get emails from.  Em and I worked on them together this afternoon.

Cookies are a nice warm treat on a cool, fall day.

Today I heard many things that warmed my heart: (in no order of importance)

  1. My 5 year old belting out a song that she heard her Daddy singing at church earlier in the day.
  2. “Mom, can we bake something together?”  (How can you say no when your 8 year old is asking to spend time with you?)
  3. Laughter of my two girls as they were watching Cinderella together.
  4. My husband saying, “Want me to stop by KFC and bring home lunch?”

Then put that on top of a great morning of worship with my church family and it makes for wonderful day.

If you make these cookies, I hope you will be able to share that time with someone you love too!

Apple Spice Drops

In a large mixing bowl beat on high for 30 seconds:

  • 1/2 cup butter or margarine

Add to the butter:

  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

Beat the above mixture until combined

Add:

  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tablespoons Milk

Beat together

Add:

  • 2 cups of flour ( mix with the mixer and then mix by hand once it is too hard to do with the mixer)

Stir in:

  • 1 cup finely chopped apple
  • (1 cup chopped walnuts….we left these out as my girls don’t care for them but I think they would be great!)

Drop dough by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart on a lightly greased cookie sheet

Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 11 minutes or until the edges are light brown.

Let them cool on the cookie sheet for just a bit before you transfer cookies to wire rackes.

Store at room temperature for up to 3 days or in the freezer for up to 3 months.

Enjoy!

5 responses »

    • Glad y’all enjoyed them. Sophie was here when Em and I started and she and H were going to be the “taste testers”. So my girls wanted to bring her some since she had already gone home before they were finished.
      The girls and I joked that maybe Stu would eat them all before everyone got home and no one would even know!

  1. Made the cookies and loved them! Ate a ton of the dough…my favorite part of baking. I gave some to the neighbors who lost their mom recently. I’ve been deliverng cookies to them once a week since their mom passed and now they call me the “Cookie Lady”. It was great to have a seasonal cookie idea..thanks!

  2. Pingback: Snacks–our afterschool treats! « Becki's Blog

Leave a Reply

